Garden Gleanings & Nasty Colds

Well, I had lots of wonderful recipes to share and witty and inspirational thoughts to bestow on y’all this past week.  And then I came down with an awful cold which made my stomach turn at the mere thought of 99.9% of all foods.  Needless to say, I haven’t done much cooking lately.  Jay was so sweet last night, though.  The one thing that was sounding good to me as I lay curled up on the couch after a grueling struggle to get through the day at work was pepperoni pizza.  So he drove all the way back into town just to get me a pepperoni pizza and a bottle of coke.  Sometimes husbands can be useful, huh?  Hehe.

I’ll be back soon with recipes, but today I thought I would let y’all see what’s come out of my garden recently.  Earlier in the week I was so excited to find a huge zucchini growing.  Then this morning I checked the garden again and found another even bigger one!  The one I’m holding is the one I picked this morning.  They’ll be going into this zucchini pie tonight.  And the squash is the first squash I’ve had all summer to finally grow to full size.  I’ve had so many problems with blossom-end rot, which I think is being caused by pollination issues.  Not really much I can do, in that case.  But I think I’ll get a few more squash at least, and hopefully have better luck next summer.

That’s all for now.  I hope everyone has a great weekend, and happy cooking!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Garden Gleanings & Nasty Colds

  1. Aw, feel better soon Cat and what a sweet husband you have. :o) Your veggies are gorgeous! What fun making a meal from ingredients that came from your garden.

Leave a Reply

