Marinated Vegetable Salad

I don’t know about y’all, but during the summer I love salads like this that don’t need any sort of cooking or fancy prep work.  When you’ve got the season’s best veggies, why cook them and mess with that fresh taste? Plus, there are some vegetables that Jay and I much prefer raw, cauliflower being one of them.  This needs to be made ahead of time and gets even better the longer it sits, so it’s a nice thing to make on the weekend and take along with your lunch during the week.  I created this salad when I had lots of fresh veggies in the fridge and wanted to do something with them before they went bad.  You can add or delete any vegetables you want, these are just what all was in my fridge, and I thought they’d go well together.  And they did!  I think this is a very tasty salad.  For the Italian dressing, I used my homemade dressing, but you can of course use storebought if you want.

Marinated Vegetable Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups fresh cauliflower florets
  • 1/4 cup sliced yellow bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup sliced red bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup sliced cucumber
  • 1/4 cup sliced celery
  • 1/4 cup sliced onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped tomato
  • 1/2 cup sliced carrot
  • 1/2 cup Italian dressing

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, stirring to make sure all the veggies are coated in the dressing.  Chill overnight before serving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads, Vegetables, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

