Date-Pecan Granola

Happy Saturday!  I hope everyone is having a great weekend so far.  I’m still adjusting to working again and managing my time, so forgive me if my posting on my blog has been spotty lately.  But never fear, I haven’t gone anywhere, and I will still try to post a couple times a week.

Today I want to share what has become my new favorite granola.  It’s actually just a variation of this granola, but I think it’s the best I’ve come up with yet, so of course I can’t keep the recipe to myself.  I suppose maybe it’s due to growing up in the South, but pecans are by far my favorite nut.  Pair that with my love of dates that I only just discovered not long ago, and this is some seriously addictive granola, for me anyway.  Perfect for breakfast or a healthy snack.  I think you’ll love it too!

Date-Pecan Granola

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 Tb ground flaxseed
  • 2 Tb sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup chopped dates

In a large bowl, combine the rolled oats, pecans, flaxseed, and sesame seeds.

In a small saucepan, add the brown sugar, maple syrup, canola oil, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.  Stir over medium heat just until bubbles form (you may also do this step in the microwave).  Add to the oats mixture, and stir well to make sure everything is coated. 

Spread out onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake at 300 for 30 minutes, stirring once.  Allow to cool, then stir in dates.

This recipe is linked to Potluck Sunday at Mommy’s Kitchen

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

2 responses to “Date-Pecan Granola

  1. Looks yummy. We love granola at our house and I’ve been collecting recipes lately so I’ll have to give this one a try.

  2. I love dates and pecans so I cant wait to try this recipe. We are big homemade granola eaters in our house.

Leave a Reply

