Cherry Cheesecake Pie

 

The above photo of my slightly botched attempt to cut a clean slice of this pie does not do justice to the incredible yumminess of it.  This was a real treat for Jay and I because I never, and I mean NEVER, buy cream cheese.  I know those of you down in the US can easily buy blocks of cream cheese for $1, but here where I live they usually cost at least 3 times that much.  And I just can’t justify spending that much on a little block of cream cheese.  Not that I wouldn’t slather it on everything every day of my life if I could.

But this time at the store I splurged on some cream cheese so I could make this super yummy pie.  Jay commented that it was like a black forest cake in cheesecake form.  And he’s right.  What a smart guy he is.  Hehe.  Strawberries would also be good, though, if you don’t happen to have a huge stash of cherries in your deep freeze like I do.

I’m bringing this recipe to the potluck at Mommy’s Kitchen.

Cherry Cheesecake Pie

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate cookie crumbs
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 6 Tb melted butter

Cream Cheese Layer:

  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs

Cherry Glaze:

  • 2 cups pitted sweet cherries
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tb cornstarch, mixed with 2 Tb of water

Directions:

Combine the crust ingredients, then pat evenly into a pie plate.  Bake at 325 for 8 minutes.  Remove and set aside to cool completely.

While crust is cooling, combine the cream cheese, sugar, & vanilla in a mixing bowl.  Beat until well combined.  Add the eggs, and beat again until mixture is well combined and smooth.  Pour into the cooled pie crust.  Bake at 325 for 25-30 minutes or until just set.  Remove and let cool completely again.

For the glaze, combine the cherries, water, and sugar in a small saucepan.  Heat to boiling, then cover, and simmer for 5 minutes.  Add the cornstarch mixture, and cook another minute or so until the mixture thickens.  Remove from heat, and let it cool for a few minutes.  Spoon glaze over the pie.  Refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Desserts, Fruit

One response to “Cherry Cheesecake Pie

  1. oooooh! I’m drooling over here. Looks like a winner.

Leave a Reply

