Crispy Tuna Cakes with Homemade Tartar Sauce

Even though I’m from south Florida where you can get just about any seafood you want whenever you want it, I actually can’t stand the stuff.  There are a few types of fish I’m okay with (shark is my all-time favorite!), but even then I need lots of tartar sauce to smother them in. 

With those little jars of tartar sauce in the store being so expensive, though, I thought there must be a recipe out there that I can make myself and like just as much as the store-bought kind.  Well, there is, and I found it!   I made it to go with my crispy tuna cakes last night, and Jay and I both loved it.  So my search is over, and no more buying those over-priced jars at the store!  Just a heads up, this tartar sauce is a bit more on the sweet than tangy side since that’s how we like it.

Since my crispy tuna cakes are so yummy too, I’m posting that recipe as well for y’all.  Enjoy!

Crispy Tuna Cakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans tuna, drained
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 tsp Creole seasoning (Old Bay would also be nice)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green onions
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 Tb lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Directions:

Combine the breadcrumbs and Creole seasoning.  Measure out 1/3 cup and place the rest in a shallow bowl for coating the cakes.

Mix together the 1/3 cup seasoned breadcrumbs and remaining ingredients.  Form into 8 balls.  Roll them around in the breadcrumbs until well coated, then flatten out slightly into patties. They’ll be kinda soft, so handle them gently.

Heat a small amount of oil in a large skillet.  Place the patties in the skillet and cook until browned on both sides.  Serve with tartar sauce.

Homemade Tartar Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup sweet pickle relish
  • 2 Tb minced dill pickle
  • 1 tsp dried onion flakes
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • dash of Tabasco

Mix together all ingredients.  Refrigerate for several hours, at least, before serving to allow the flavors to combine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Seafood, Side Dishes

Leave a Reply

