Zucchini Pie and Happy Days

 

I am officially declaring today a Happy Day!  And for several reasons.  First, I will soon be rejoining the workforce as a productive member of society.  That’s right, I have a job.  I am nervous and excited, and I feel that it’s going to be a good thing 🙂

Second, I picked my first zucchinis from the garden!  I am a little upset, though, that I’m having problems with blossom end rot with the zucchini and squash.  Novice gardener that I am, I turned to Google, which told me it’s due to a calcium deficiency in the soil.  So I bought some bone meal to sprinkle around, and hopefully that will help the problem. 

Speaking of zucchini, that brings me to this recipe I want to share.  This is one of those deceptively simple, unprepossessing dishes that ends up giving you quite the surprise for daring to think it was going to be nothing special.  I even went back for seconds, and I almost never do that.  I actually liked it even better at room temp than straight out of the oven, so it would be something nice to make ahead for a brunch or whatnot.

And if you’ve never tried Herbs de Provence before, you really should, it’s lovely stuff.  Plus, you’ll feel like you’re making something posh and fancy when you use it.

And you know what else?  I completely blew my grocery budget yesterday, and I’m not even bothered by it.  Happy Day!

Suddenly I have an image of Mama Clump in my head…

Zucchini Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie crust
  • 4 cups sliced zucchini
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup sliced green onions
  • 1 tsp Herbs de Provence
  • 1 tsp salt
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, or your choice of cheese

Directions:

Saute zucchini and garlic in a skillet until softened.  Stir in green onions, Herbs de Provence, salt, and pepper.  Remove from heat, and allow to cool for a few minutes.

Whisk together eggs and cheese in a large bowl.  Add the zucchini mixture, stirring to make sure everything is well combined.  Pour into prepared pie crust.

Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes or until set.

I’m sharing this recipe at The Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap.

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Casseroles, Vegetables, Vegetarian

5 responses to “Zucchini Pie and Happy Days

  1. Cat, congratulations on the job!! That’s wonderful news! It’s normal to be nervous too, but after that first day the nerves will disappear. :o) Your zucchini pie sounds so perfect for summer! Good luck on the job!

  2. I just love zucchini… it’s so versatile! Perfect summer veggie. ~Alison

    PS – I have a recipe swap on my blog that you may be interested in. Your recipe would be perfect! –> http://prairiestory.blogspot.com/

  3. Pingback: Garden Gleanings & Nasty Colds « Cookin' with Cat

  4. Pingback: Quiche Lorraine | Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

