Marinara Sauce with Fresh Herbs

Good morning!  I feel like I’ve been neglecting my little blog lately and not posting as much as I would like. I’ve been under a bit of stress and haven’t felt like I had much in the way of good recipes or positive thoughts to share.  But today I’m back 🙂

This is a nice recipe for those of you, like me, who like to grow fresh herbs in the summer.  It’s an easy way to doctor up a cheap can of tomatoes and turn it into something a little fancier.  This sauce is very versatile as well, you can use it on all sorts of things, it’s even a good pizza sauce.  In the past I’ve made several large batches and frozen them for later.  Pop open a jar and have the fresh taste of summer herbs in the middle of winter!

I have to say that I’ve been a bit dissapointed with my basil this year.  I usually buy sweet basil, but I decided to try something different, so I bought some spicy globe basil.  While I like the taste of it just fine, it’s not been nearly as prolific as the sweet basil.  And with basil being one of my favorite herbs, I like to have large bunches of it to freeze at the end of summer.  Note to self for next year:  buy sweet basil first and then experiment with different varieties!

Marinara Sauce with Fresh Herbs

Ingredients:

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 2 Tb chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • red pepper flakes, optional

Directions:

Heat a little olive oil in a saucepan.  Add onion and garlic to pan, cooking until they have softened.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Cover and simmer for 45 minutes.  Season with salt to taste.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pasta, Pizza, Stove-Top Meals, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

