Sunny Day Chicken Salad

Is it just me, or do any of you also find yourselves attracted to recipes just because of their title?  For instance, I always make a beeline for recipes whose titles start with “old-fashioned” or “Southern”, and ones whose titles just make me feel, well, happy.  Such as this recipe.  I already have a handful of chicken salad recipes that I love, but when I saw this one on Food.com (formerly Recipzaar), I loved the name so much that I just had to save it to my recipe box.  I also liked that it came from Gooseberry Patch’s Hometown Favorites cookbook because I love Gooseberry Patch.

So yesterday when I was making this, I was feeling warm and fuzzy because I was making Sunny Day Chicken Salad, and it actually was sunny outside with clear blue skies, and that just made me happy.  Am I strange?  Okay, maybe just a little.  But I’ll take any happiness I can get.

I didn’t have all the ingredients called for, so I did quite a bit of playing around with the recipe, but I thought the end result was really tasty.  I’ve never made a chicken salad that included Ranch dressing mix before, and I liked the flavor it gave, it was something a little different.  I think you’ll really like this recipe as well, and maybe it’ll make you happy too 🙂

I’m bringing this along to the potluck over at Mommy’s Kitchen.

Sunny Day Chicken Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg Ranch dressing mix
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 2 Tb honey
  • 2 cups cooked chicken, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sliced celery
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh pineapple
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (sliced grapes would be a nice substitute)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted (or slivered almonds)
  • lettuce leaves

Directions:

Whisk together the dressing mix, mayonnaise, plain yogurt, and honey.  Add in remaining ingredients, and stir to combine.  Refrigerate until well chilled. 

To serve, place a lettuce leaf on each plate.  Spoon chicken salad in the middle of each lettuce leaf.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicken, Salads

One response to “Sunny Day Chicken Salad

  1. Rebekah

    The name of the recipe caught my attention too! 🙂 I cannot wait to try it. I love a good salad recipe.
    Rebekah @ http://www.kidsdoeathealthy.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

