Impossibly Easy BLT Pie

I spotted this recipe in my latest Dinner Made Easy newsletter from Betty Crocker and thought it sounded really good.  I had all the ingredients on hand and nothing already planned for dinner (which is unusual for me), so I thought, let’s make this!  Well, it was everything I thought it could be.  Delicious!  I like making “impossible” pies because there’s no pesky crust to deal with, you generally just mix everything together, pour it into your pie plate, and you’re good to go.  Couldn’t be easier.

One major alteration I made to the recipe was cutting the amount of bacon in half.  It originally called for 12 slices, which just seemed like bacon overload to me.  6 slices was plenty enough.  One trick when you’re cutting a fattening ingredient in half, such as  bacon in this case, is to chop or crumble it up finely, that way it still gets well dispersed.

I had leftovers for breakfast the next morning without any lettuce or tomato, and you know what?  It tasted just like one of those fast food bacon egg and cheese sandwiches, only in casserole form and without so many calories.  Yum!

Impossibly Easy BLT Pie

Ingredients:

  • 6 slices of cooked bacon, chopped or crumbled
  • 4 ounces shredded Swiss cheese
  • 1/2 cup Bisquick
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • dash of ground black pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • chopped lettuce and tomato

Directions:

Spray a pie plate with cooking spray.  Sprinkle bacon and cheese over the bottom.  Whisk together remaining ingredients, except lettuce and tomato, and pour into the pie plate.

Bake at 400 degrees for 25-30 minutes.  Sprinkle lettuce and tomato over the top before serving.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Casseroles, Pork

3 responses to “Impossibly Easy BLT Pie

  1. Cat, I love the “impossible pies”, they’re so fast and easy and to top it off actually taste good, lol. I haven’t made this one yet, but I’ve made a number of different ones over the years. Thanks for sharing!

  2. pOPPA

    nOW THAT SOUNDS LIKE A WINNER. i WILL PRINT THIS AND PLACE IT ON mAWmAW’S PILLOW SO SHE WILL HAVE A SUGGESTION FOR BREAKFAST.

    She tells me that she decides what to cook at the last minute unless I ask for a special. So here goes. THANKS. Today is Martha’s birthday. She is in Tenn with family. I bet they miss you. And we are here at home doing same old thing.

    Enjoy your home making job. I know Jay is proud of you..

Leave a Reply

