Dilled Cucumber on Tomatoes

Here’s an easy peasy way to use up some of those cucumbers and tomatoes taking over your gardens (or grocery stores).  I love simple recipes like this one, and I think when you have really great produce it’s best not to fuss with it too much.  This recipe comes from my old Southern Living 1984 Annual Recipes cookbook (Originally my Mawmaw’s, then I snagged it when my Aunt Martha was getting rid of it. I’m sentimental about things like that).  The fresh dill is important here, dried just won’t cut it.

Btw, remember yesterday I was rejoicing over having a nice quiet weekend to myself? Well, after mangling the boat propeller on some rocks in shallow water, the boys came home a day early.  So much for my quiet night of reading in bed with no one snoring next to me.  *Sigh*

I’m posting this recipe for Potluck Sunday at Mommy’s Kitchen.

Dilled Cucumber on Tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 large cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 Tb white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh dillweed
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 3 medium tomatoes, sliced

Directions:

Place sliced cucumber in a shallow bowl.  Set aside.  Whisk together next 6 ingredients and pour over the cucumber, tossing gently.  Cover and chill at least 6 hours.

Place sliced tomatoes on a platter.  Spoon sliced cucumbers over top.

2 Comments

Filed under Vegetables

2 responses to “Dilled Cucumber on Tomatoes

  1. Now this is a recipe for me, I love cucumbers in vinegar, not really a pickle but just that hint of being a pickle. Thanks!!!!!

  2. This is definitely a recipe for you then. You’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

