De-Light-Ful Ranch Dressing

Well, it’s just me and the cats here this weekend.  Jay is off fishing and camping and will be back sometime tomorrow.  I worry about three overgrown boys off by themselves with no responsible female around.  I just hope they all come home safe and sound without killing themselves or anything else (except fish, of course)!

That means I don’t have to worry about what I’m going to cook for dinner.  If I just want a nice big salad, well that’s what I’ll have, and there’ll be no one to complain!  I meant to post this recipe before now and just plain forgot.  I made it go with our Steak Salads from earlier this week.  I’ve tried many recipes for Ranch dressing but have never been satisfied with any of them.  This recipe from Ellie Krieger is the best I’ve found so far.  I’ve made it several times and really like it.  And since it’s an Ellie Krieger recipe, it’s also healthy to boot. 

Hope you enjoy it if you give it a try, and I hope everyone has a great Saturday 🙂

De-Light-Ful Ranch Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup nonfat plain yogurt or 1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/3 cup lowfat buttermilk
  • 3 Tb mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 Tb finely chopped fresh chives
  • salt to taste

Directions:

If using regular yogurt, place it in a strainer lined with a paper towel, and set that over a bowl to drain.  Let it sit and thicken for 20 minutes.  In a medium bowl whisk together the yogurt and remaining ingredients.  Refrigerate.

3 Comments

Filed under Salads

3 responses to “De-Light-Ful Ranch Dressing

  1. This sounds fantastic Cat!! I, too, have tried different homemade ranch dressing recipes and wasn’t that thrilled with any of them. I’m definitely going to try this as Ellie is one of my favourite cooks and her recipes have never let me down yet. Thanks for posting!

  2. Great recipe! How long will this keep in the frig?

    • In her cookbook, Ellie Krieger says it should keep for around 3 days in the fridge, but it always ends up staying in mine for longer than that with no problems. You might just need to give it a shake before using. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

