Blueberry Muffins with Cinnamon Crumb Topping

Considering that when I recently made this fruity baked oatmeal I mentioned that I was bored with muffins, hence the search for other breakfast options, I don’t know what possessed me to make muffins this past weekend.  Well, I guess it was the fact that I had just bought some blueberries on sale (a treat in itself, since they’re usually too expensive for our budget), and it seems like when you have fresh blueberries, the only proper thing to do is make some blueberry muffins.  Plus, ever since I saw these muffins posted on Jamie Cooks It Up! they’ve just been calling to me.  I had no choice but to make them.

All I have to say about these muffins is that they’re some of the best I’ve ever eaten.  I also didn’t realize until I’d started on the recipe that it was a bit more sugar-laden than I was aiming for as a healthy to-go breakfast, but that’s not their fault.  They taste more like coffee cake, really, and I bet you could just pour the batter into a baking dish and make coffee cake instead of muffins.  I would serve these more as a treat or dessert, but however you serve them, you’re gonna love them.  Thanks to Jamie for sharing the recipe!

Blueberry Muffins with Cinnamon Crumb Topping

Ingredients:

Muffins:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Crumb Topping:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine the dry muffin ingredients.  In another bowl, combine the wet.  Add the wet to the dry, stirring just until combined.  Fold in the blueberries carefully.  Spoon into greased muffin tin, filling the cups 3/4 of the way full.

For the topping, combine the sugar, flour, and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter until the mixture is crumbly.  Sprinkle evenly over the muffin batter.

Bake at 400F for 20-25 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Fruit

Leave a Reply

