Pineapple Salsa

Good morning fellow bloggers and foodies 🙂  Whew, it’s gonna be a warm one here today with a forecasted high of 29C which translates as 84F for all you Americans.  Wimpy by my native Florida standards but a veritable heat wave here.

I think it’s this warm weather that’s got me wanting to make lots of tropical-y foods lately, such as this recipe for pineapple salsa.  I found it while looking through some old issues of Simple & Delicious.  I used to subscribe to both S&D and Taste of Home when I was living just outside of Seattle for several years.  Then I moved here to Canada, got married and became a permanent resident and just never renewed my subscriptions.  On a whim, I decided to pick up the latest issue of S&D recently and after finding tons of recipes I want to try, I think I’m going to have to start buying it again regularly!  I’ve also decided I’m going to start looking through my back issues and trying some more recipes, so y’all may see some more of them popping up here as I try them.

Anyway, regarding this pineapple salsa, I thought it was very tasty.  The lime juice is my personal addition, because I think you’ve just gotta have a little lime juice in a good salsa.  Enjoy!

Oh and one last thing.  Trying to take pictures of food involving tortilla chips outside on a windy day equals very bad idea.  I had just finished taking pictures when a particularly large gust of wind blew my chips all over the deck, which led to me frantically running around with a broom and dustpan trying to sweep them all up.  Fun stuff.

Pineapple Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups diced fresh pineapple
  • 2 medium tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 3/4 cup diced sweet onion
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh cilantro
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
  • 2 Tb fresh lime juice
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 3/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients.  Cover and refrigerate until serving.  Serve with tortilla chips.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Fruit

Leave a Reply

