Caribbean Banana Jam

Is that not a beautiful sight?  That’s the farmer’s field across the road from where I live full of canola that’s just beginning to flower.  You can also see the yellow patches on the neighboring hills as well.  I don’t know about y’all, but scenes like this are like a breath of fresh air in my soul.  I’m very much a nature lover as you may have been able to tell from some of the other pictures I’ve posted, and I just had to stand there in amazement for a few minutes looking out on this field.  I wanted to walk out and run my hands along those flowers, but I resisted the urge!

Okay, now moving on to other matters of importance.  Did you know that you can make jam with bananas?  If you did then you’re ahead of me!  I love to make jams and preserves but somehow it never crossed my mind that you can make jam with bananas.  Well, now I know, and I have a tasty recipe to share as a result.

This jam is super easy to make.  Even if you’re a complete novice, this will be a piece of cake for you.  One thing I’ve learned since my first attempts at jam making is that it’s not an exact science.  I used to think it all had to be so precise, the temperature has to be just so, and there can be no deviation from the listed ingredients.  I’ve learned you can pretty much make jam with whatever ingredients and quantities you want, and forget the “jelling point”,  I don’t need a thermometer to tell me when my jam is the consistency I want.  But since that all comes with practice, I think this recipe is an excellent starting out point.

Give this yummy summertime jam a try, I think you’ll love it 🙂

Caribbean Banana Jam

Ingredients:

  • 5 ripe bananas
  • 2/3 cup orange juice
  • 3 Tb lime juice
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 Tb banana liqueur (optional)

Directions:

Peel and mash bananas.  Add to a saucepan along with the lime juice, orange juice, sugar, vanilla, and salt.  Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring often, until mixture is thickened.  Stir in liqueur and remove from heat.

Ladle into sterilized canning jars, making sure to leave a little head space.  Screw the lids on to seal.  Store in a cool, dark place.  Makes enough for 3 6-ounce jars.

*Note:  I know many people, especially the older generation, consider the seal formed after screwing on the lids to be sufficient.  Current safety guidelines, though, recommend always processing jams and jellies in a boiling water bath to make sure all bacteria is killed, and I recommend erring on the side of caution as well.  So if  you decide to can some of this for later,  I suggest processing the jars for 10 minutes first.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Fruit

Leave a Reply

