Spaghetti Frittata

A few days ago Jay and I stopped by Kuhlman’s, a large market garden just down the road from where we live.  One of the things I love about the rural area I live in outside the big city is the numerous market gardens nearby.  The few times I tried to brave the super crowded downtown farmers market was a nightmare, so I’m loving having Kuhlman’s nearby. I know for many of you, your farmers markets and country stores are already overflowing with fresh produce, but since we live so far north here, our season is only just now beginning.  Of the few things ready so far at Kuhlman’s, one was spinach, and I ended up coming away with a huge bunch of it which I needed to start using up quickly.

I decided to make this recipe for Spaghetti Frittata from the newest cookbook by Ellie Krieger called So Easy.  I’ve liked most of her recipes I’ve tried so far, and I especially liked this one.  And despite being a lighter dish, my meat and potatoes husband really liked it as well.  That’s a winner in my book!  The only thing I altered in the recipe was to use all whole eggs rather than half egg whites.  I know that’s where all the fat is, but my frugal self just can’t stand throwing away half the egg!

I thought it made a lovely summer meal 🙂  Enjoy!

Spaghetti Frittata

Ingredients:

  • 5 large eggs
  • 5 large egg whites
  • 1 small onion, sliced into half moons
  • 5 cups baby spinach leaves
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 ounces whole-wheat spaghetti, cooked and drained
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions:

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs and egg whites.  Set aside.

In a large ovenproof skillet, heat a little olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and cook until softened.  Add the spinach, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic, salt, and pepper.  Cook until the spinach is wilted, about 1 minute.  Combine the cooked spaghetti and marinara sauce, and add to the pan, stirring to combine everything.

Lower the heat to medium-low and pour over the beaten eggs.  Cook until the edges are set on the edges but not in the middle, about 6-8 minutes.

Preheat the broiler.  Sprinkle the Parmesan cheese over top, and place under the broiler.  Cook until the top is set and golden brown, 2-3 minutes.  Cut into wedges to serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pasta, Stove-Top Meals

Leave a Reply

