Fruity Baked Oatmeal

I couldn’t resist posting this picture!  This is an outside cat that roams our neighborhood, he doesn’t belong to our landlords but they leave food out for him, so naturally he hangs around here a lot.  He decided to hop into my shot this morning.

Here are a few more pictures of him.  He’s the most loving cat I’ve ever met.  Always lookin’ for pets and scratches.

What a cutie patootie, huh?  Okay, but enough getting distracted by adorable cats!

Since Jay always eats his breakfast on the go, it’s the one meal I always struggle with.  I want to make sure he has something to take with him, but muffins and the like get boring after a while.  So I’ve been looking for new ideas, and when I saw a recipe for baked oatmeal in one of my old Simple & Delicious magazines I decided to give it a try.  I thought it turned out really nicely (we’ll see what Jay thinks when he comes home tonight).  I altered the recipe a bit to make it healthier.  Hope you like it! 🙂

Fruity Baked Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups assorted fresh fruit (I used 1 cup peaches and 1/4 cup each strawberries and bluberries)

Directions:

Combine the rolled oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices in a large mixing bowl.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk, butter, and eggs.  Add to the dry ingredients.  Stir in the fruit.

Pour into a greased 8×8 inch baking dish.  Bake in a 350F oven for 35-40 minutes.  Cut into squares.  Serve with milk, if desired.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Fruit

One response to “Fruity Baked Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Muffins with Cinnamon Crumb Topping « Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

