Kung Pao Pork with Fried Rice

Today I’ve got two recipes!  The Kung Pao Pork was a new recipe I tried from one of my Southern Living cookbooks (a Chinese dish in a Southern Living Cookbook?  I don’t see the logic either, but I won’t question a good recipe!), and the fried rice recipe is pretty much my favorite version of that dish.  So since I made them both on the same night, I thought I’d share them both.  And that’s the story of how I came to share two recipes today 🙂

Jay and I both really like Chinese food.  Well, Americanized Chinese food, anyway.  No baby cow uterus for me.  Yes, I did see that at an Asian market here once.  And while I’m all for the “waste not want not” idea, somehow that just seems wrong…

For seasoning the fried rice, I use Paula Deen’s House Seasoning.  It is my favorite seasoning blend, and I use it on EVERYTHING.  If you don’t want to make up a batch yourself, just give the fried rice a good sprinkle of salt, pepper, and garlic powder, which is what House Seasoning is composed of. 

Kung Pao Pork

Ingredients:

  • 1 small red bell pepper
  • 1/2 small onion
  • 3/4 lb lean pork
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce, divided
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 Tb lemon juice
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Directions:

Cut the pork into 1/2 inch cubes.  Drizzle with 2 Tb soy sauce.  Cut the onion and bell pepper into large chunks.  Combine remaining 2 Tb soy sauce, water, and next 4 ingredients in a small bowl.  Whisk until blended.

Add a small amount of olive oil to a skillet.  Add the pork and garlic to skillet.  Stir fry until pork is browned.  Add the onion and bell pepper.  Stir fry until crisp-tender.  Pour in the soy sauce mixture.  Cook and stir for a few minutes, until sauce has thickened.

Fried Rice

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups cold, cooked rice
  • 3 Tb butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped carrots
  • 8 ounces of shredded cabbage (can use coleslaw mix from a bag)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • Paula Deen’s House Seasoning

Directions:

Melt the butter in a skillet over medium heat.  Add the garlic, chopped carrots and shredded cabbage.  Cook for a few minutes until vegetables are crisp-tender.  Add in the cooked rice.  Season with House Seasoning.  Cook another few minutes until the rice is heated through.  Add in the green onions and soy sauce.  Stir to make sure the soy sauce is well incorporated, then it’s ready to serve.

1 Comment

Filed under Pork, Side Dishes, Stove-Top Meals, Vegetables

One response to “Kung Pao Pork with Fried Rice

  1. What a coincidence, I am going to be having kung-pao sometime this week! Looks very tasty!

Leave a Reply

