Peach Pound Cake

 

Being from the South, I’ve eaten my fair share of pound cakes.  My favorite part was always that little bit in the center that never quite got cooked through all the way.  I’m sure my mom saw that as a flaw in the cake, but not me!  I loved that doughy little bit. 

Now that I’m grown, I enjoy making pound cakes too.  I don’t think there are many cakes out there that can beat a good pound cake, at least in my opinion.  And my absolute favorite pound cake is one that includes my favorite fruit, peaches.  It doesn’t get much better than this, folks.  Give it a try, I think you’ll love it too 🙂

Btw, I halved the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan, which is why my slices look different than they would baked in a Bundt pan.  And those flowers you see are beautiful wildflowers I picked along the roadside this morning.  Isn’t Mother Nature amazing?

Peach Pound Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups peeled, chopped fresh peaches

Directions:

Generously butter and sugar a Bundt pan.  Set aside.

In an electric mixer, cream sugar and butter until light and fluffy.  Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Stir in vanilla.  Add in 2 3/4 cup flour, baking powder, and salt.  Beat until well combined.  Toss peaches with the remaining 1/4 cup flour and fold into the batter.  Pour batter into the prepared Bundt pan.

Bake at 325F for 60-70 minutes.  Let cool in pan for 10 minutes before inverting onto a wire rack to finish cooling.

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Peach Pound Cake

  1. Mmmm…comfort food. Pound cakes always reminds me of home, I should start making this soon 🙂

  2. Diane

    This is absolutely superb! Yummy

Leave a Reply

