Smarter Fettuccine Alfredo

 

Happy Friday!  Does anyone have any great plans for the weekend?  Jay is working through the weekend, so it’ll be a pretty low-key weekend for us.  No special outings this time, not even grocery shopping (I buy groceries every other week, and this is an off week).  The weather is supposed to be beautiful, though, so there may be some time spent going for a walk or sitting out on the deck in the sunshine with a good book.  I wish summer could last all year long.  *Sigh*

This recipe today comes from Philadelphia brand.  I’ve made it many times now, and I really like it.  Of course, it’s not going to be able to compete with a heavy cream and cheese-laden alfredo, but for a lighter option, I think it’s really good.  This time I added some chopped broccoli to make it a little heartier and sprinkled in some chives fresh from my herb garden.  With some garlic bread and salad on the side, it makes a really nice meatless meal 🙂

Smarter Fettuccine Alfredo

Ingredients:

  • 10 ounces fettuccine pasta
  • 1 1/4 cups chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup cream cheese
  • 4 tsp flour
  • 3 Tb Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 Tb fresh parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup steamed broccoli (optional)

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package directions.  Drain, saving a little of the pasta water just in case the sauce needs thinning. 

Whisk together broth and flour in a saucepan.  Stir in cream cheese, 2 Tb of the Parmesan cheese, nutmeg, broccoli, if using, and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook until the sauce is smooth and thickened. Add the fettuccine to the sauce.  Stir to make sure it’s all coated.  Sprinkle with fresh parsley and the remaining Parmesan cheese.

2 Comments

Filed under Pasta, Stove-Top Meals, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Smarter Fettuccine Alfredo

  1. This web site tells about the Retired Educators in our state who enlist retired teachers and others to do volunteer work, literacy, raise scholarship money for prospective teachers. I am president of the Sumter County unit. We only have about 70 members and we meet 8 times a year.

    Thanks for the ALfredo recipe. Now I have to get MM to make some for me. I am still trying to get the cookies. (We are eating healthy.)

    We have been in Bible School all week teaching 4 and 5 year olds.
    I rmember when you worked with little kids after school. Did you enjoy it? I do, but I am not young enough to keep up with them now.

  2. This website is for the State Retired educators. I am president for the local Sumter County unit. We recruit all teachers or other educators who are retired to raise scholarship funds to help students study to be teachers.

    I remember when you were working with little children after school and I think you enjoyed it but you also enjoy many other interesting things. This week, MM and I have worked with Vacation Bible School and tonight they have the closing programn for parents. We had 7 four and five year olds. We had fun but are tired out.

    Thanks for the Alfredo sauce. I love that. Now I need to get MM to make some.

Leave a Reply

