Lime-Cilantro Pork Tacos

Good afternoon!  Looking back over my recent posts today, I realized it’s been a while since I’ve posted any sort of main dish.  So today that’s what I’m going to do 🙂

I LOVE Mexican food.  Actually, I love just about any Latin type food.  In south Florida where I grew up, we have  a large population of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Cubans, and the like, so that’s the kind of ethnic food I ate a lot of.  And generally, the more cheese, sour cream, and guacamole piled on, the better (I realize that’s not totally “authentic”).  It’s nice to have something a bit lighter once in a while, though, and this recipe for pork tacos from Cooking Light is perfect.  They’re quick and easy to make too, so you don’t have to slave over a hot stove for more than just a few minutes.  Perfect summer food, in my opinion!

Also, for any of you who may be interested, tomorrow I’ll be making a post of Jay and I’s little outing to the Royal Alberta Museum last Saturday.  I just have a cheap digital camera, but I take it with me everywhere, and I took lots of pictures at the museum.  So I thought y’all might like to see (I’m sure I can’t be the only person who loves looking at other people’s pictures).

Have a great day!

Lime-Cilantro Pork Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb pork tenderloin, cut into thin strips (I use cheaper pork loin)
  • 1 1/2 cups thinly sliced onion
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup chopped plum tomato
  • 3 Tb chopped cilantro
  • 2 1/2 Tb fresh lime juice
  • 8 (6 inch) flour tortillas

Directions:

Season the pork with salt and pepper.  I actually used Goya brand Adobo All-Purpose Seasoning because I love that stuff, but it’s up to you.  Add a little olive oil to a large skillet, then add the pork.  Cook over medium-high heat until the pork is browned.  Remove to a platter. 

Add a little more olive oil to the skillet, then add the onions and jalapeno.  Cook until the onion is tender.  Add the broth.  Simmer for 1 minute.  Add the chopped tomato, and simmer for 2 minutes. 

Return the pork and any juices to the pan.  Stir in cilantro and lime juice.  Cook just until pork is heated through again.  Serve in tortillas.

1 Comment

Filed under Pork, Stove-Top Meals

One response to “Lime-Cilantro Pork Tacos

  1. We really enjoyed the ONION PIE. MM made and served it for Father’s Day when we had all Glenn’s family here – fed 17 people including 3 little boys ages under 3. Glenn had a very happy Father’s Day with all his kids.

    Elizabeth’s fiancee –Gary- is from a family that has been active in the community’s famous lemonade that is made from fresh squeezed lemons at an Annual Picnic held every year on the last Saturday in June. They also are known for the potato salad made to feed large gatherings.
    So I am offering their recipe for that salad. You might have to cut it down for a small family. (Smile)

    LINDEN CEMETERY PICNIC

    6 or 7 bushnels Potatoes, 4 gal. Relish, 1 qt Vinegar, 1 box Black Pepper, 50 lbs. Onions, 4 gals. Salad Dressing, 5 lbs. Sugar, 1 case Eggs, 1 gal Mustard, 3 boxes Salt.

    Clean, and peel potatoes, Cook until almost tender. Cool, then Cut into small pieces. Add chopped onions (without crying in the pot). Have the cooled hard boiled eggs peeled and ready to cut up to add to the potatoes. Add the remaining ingredients and STIR until your arm falls off.
    Adjust seasonings to taste. Serve with a smile. Feeds over 1000 hungry people.

    This raises money to keep the Linden Cemetery clean and looking attractive. Years past, the work was done by the families but now they employ maintenance crews.

Leave a Reply

