Mrs. Farfsing’s “One Dressing Fits All”

Happy First Day of Summer everyone!  Woohoo!  I have officially gone into full summer food mode.  I want nothin’ to do with soups and stews, give me salads and bbq.  The warm weather we’ve been having has been helping my plants along as well.  I’ve already picked a few little strawberries.  I tell ya, there are few things better than biting into a warm, freshly picked strawberry.  Yum!  My peppers, squash, and zucchini are coming along as well.  So exciting to watch them grow.

So because it’s so gloriously warm and sunny outside, and I doubt any of y’all want to make soups and stews right now either, I’m going to share today another great salad dressing recipe.  I’ve been experimenting with salad dressings for a few months now, and this is one of the best I’ve made so far.  I jotted down the recipe a long time ago from a little cookbook of my mom’s called Wesson Down-Home Cooking and am wondering now why I took so long to make it.  True to its name, I think this dressing would be great on more than just a garden salad.  It would go great with pasta salad or potato salad as well.  Maybe even as a marinade. Whatever you choose, I think you’ll really like this dressing!  🙂 

Mrs. Farfsing’s “One Dressing Fits All”

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp crushed fresh garlic
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a glass jar.  Shake well to combine.  Store in refrigerator.

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads

Leave a Reply

