Orange Pineapple Cream Pie

Good Sunday morning, everyone!  My, what a beautiful day it’s shaping up to be here.  I see some time spent outside in my future today.  Before I get to the recipe I’m sharing today, take a look at what I noticed during my evening walk yesterday:

The wild roses are in bloom!  The wild rose is Alberta’s official provincial flower, and it grows all over the place.  There was a bit of a breeze last night that blew it’s scent all around, making it smell like I was walking in a giant rose garden.  So lovely!  One of my projects for this fall is to collect the rose hips and try making tea with them.  We’ll see how that turns out 🙂

Now for the recipe.  This is not technically a “pie”, in the same way that Boston cream pie is not a pie, which this is a variation of.  I found the recipe in my old Farm Journal’s Country Cookbook, and it seemed like a nice summery kind of dessert.  I have to admit that baking is my weakness, I could probably happily bake cakes and cookies and other treats every day of the week.  But that’s not such a great idea for my health or waistline, so a while back I began to limit myself to making one sweet treat a week for us.  This is what I picked for this week, and it’s quite tasty!  A perfect warm weather treat.  It does take a bit of time and effort, but I thought the end result was worth it.

One thing to note is that the batter makes enough for two cakes, but you only need one for this recipe.  The instructions suggest freezing the second layer.  I have no use for a second cake layer sitting around in my freezer, so I just cut the recipe in half.

Oh, and just pretend you don’t see those toothpicks…

Orange Pineapple Cream Pie

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sifted cake flour
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup shortening (I used canola oil)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg

Orange Pineapple Cream Filling:

  • 1 cup milk, scalded
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 Tb cornstarch
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 Tb butter or margarine
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp grated orange zest
  • 1/2 cup crushed pineapple, drained

Directions:

Sift dry ingredients into mixing bowl.  Add shortening, milk, and vanilla.  Beat with an electric mixer for 2 minutes.  Add egg and beat 2 minutes more.  Pour into two greased cake pans.  Bake at 350F for 25-30 minutes.  Cool on racks.  Use one layer to make Orange Pineapple Cream Pie; freeze the other for use later.

For the cream filling, stir together sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a saucepan.  Gradually add the scalded milk to the mixture.  Stir over medium-low heat for 10-15 minutes or until mixture begins to thicken.

Add about 1/2 cup of the mixture to the beaten eggs, whisking constantly.  Carefully stir the egg mixture back into the cream mixture in the saucepan.  Cook about 3 more minutes, until mixture is thick.  Remove from heat.  Stir in the butter, vanilla, orange zest, and pineapple.  Allow to cool completely.

To assemble the pie, carefully split the cake layer in half lengthwise into two thin layers.  Spread the cream filling over the bottom layer.  Cover with the top layer.  Dust with powdered sugar.  Refrigerate for several hourse before serving.

I’m posting this recipe for Potluck Sunday at Mommy’s Kitchen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts

Leave a Reply

