My Favorite Gazpacho

Happy Saturday!  Because it’s warm and sunny here today, which has put me into a summer-y kinda mood, I thought I would post my recipe for gazpacho.  I LOVE gazpacho, and when summer vegetables are at their finest, you’ll more often than not find a container of it hanging out in the fridge.  It’s just one of those things that’s synonymous with summer.

Considering how much I love gazpacho now, that wasn’t actually always the case.  While I always wanted to like gazpacho because it just seemed like something I should like and it looked so pretty and refreshing…I just didn’t.  But I continued to try different recipes until I think I must have wore my tastebuds down, and they finally gave in and agreed to like the darn dish.  Or maybe because I finally found the perfect recipe.  Which I will now share with all of you!

I like my gazpacho simple and straightforward.  No strange ingredients.  And I prefer to keep all the vegetables whole, not blended up.  I think it looks nicer to see all the bits of vegetables.  But you can certainly do whatever you prefer.  Also, I sometimes use cilantro in place of the basil and parsely for a completely different flavor. Enjoy!

Btw, I am extremely jealous of all of you that already have fresh produce coming out of your gardens, or are about to have.  My peppers, squash, and zucchini are coming along, but they’re still babies right now.  I do have lots of little strawberries growing, but it’ll be a couple weeks still before they’ll be ready to pick, I think.  As anxious as I am, though, to be out there picking my garden goodies already, it’s exciting just to watch it all grow!

Gazpacho

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups tomato juice
  • 1 cup finely diced tomato
  • 1/4 cup minced red or sweet onion
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, minced
  • 1/2 medium cucumber, minced (I use English cucumber, so no peeling or seeding)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 Tb lemon juice
  • 1 Tb lime juice
  • 1 Tb red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp minced fresh basil
  • 2 Tb minced fresh parsley

Directions:

Mix together all ingredients in a large bowl.  Refrigerate for at least several hours before serving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Side Dishes, Soups/Stews, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

