Southwestern Chicken and Black Bean Pizza

One of my favorite pizzas is chicken fajita pizza, a recipe I got from my mom years ago.  But when I wanted to make it a few nights ago, I had to do a little improvising based on ingredients I had on hand.  I didn’t have the salsa called for, but I did have some homemade enchilada sauce in the freezer.  I also had some black beans I wanted to use in place of some of the chicken.  Just like that, a new pizza was born!  It turned out great, and even Jay, who dislikes beans in anything except for baked beans(but I still make him eat them), really liked it.  Give this one a try! 🙂

Before I sign off for today, let me share with y’all what’s sitting on my kitchen table and smelling oh so wonderful right now:

Lilacs!  When Jay and I were out walking last night after dinner, we spotted several bushes in bloom along the road, and I wrangled off a few bunches.  I assume they must grow down South as well, but I can’t remember anyone I know ever growing them.  Their scent is truly heavenly.

Southwestern Chicken and Black Bean Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 pre-baked pizza crust, homemade or store-bought
  • 1 chicken breast, cubed
  • 1 cup sliced onion
  • 1 cup sliced bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup cooked black beans
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup enchilada sauce
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 8 oz. shredded Monterey Jack or Cheddar cheese

Directions:

In a medium skillet, cook the chicken until browned on all sides.  Remove from skillet and set aside.  Add the onion and bell pepper to the skillet, and cook until softened.  Return the chicken to the skillet along with the black beans, and stir in the chili powder, salt, and garlic powder.

Spread the enchilda sauce over the pizza crust.  Spoon the skillet mixture evenly over top.  Sprinkle with chopped tomato, then the cheese.

Bake at 425F until the crust is browned and the cheese is melted, about 15 minutes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Pizza

Leave a Reply

