Peanut Butter, Bananas, and Dates, Oh My

I think I have found my absolute favorite flavor combination in the entire world!  At least until I eat so much that I’m sick of it, which is a distinct possibility.  We all know how well peanut butter and bananas go together, and I got the idea of adding dates (and cinnamon, actually) from Ellie Krieger’s cookbook So Easy which has a recipe in it for breakfast wraps with those ingredients.  I liked that idea, but then I decided to see what else I could create with my favorite new flavor combo.

The first thing I came up with was peanut butter, banana, and date oatmeal.  It turned out super and makes a nice healthy breakfast that doesn’t taste “healthy”.

And then I thought, Why not slap it all between some slices of bread and make a grilled peanut butter, banana, and date sandwich?  Well, I think that was just about the best idea I’ve had in a long time!

One thing I want to mention is that I ALWAYS buy natural peanut butter.  In fact, I buy it in bulk at a local bulk foods store.  I love that it has one ingredient and one ingredient only-roasted peanuts.  After all, it is peanut butter.  I want to taste the peanuts, not the trans fats and other additives.  If you’ve never tried natural peanut butter, I really encourage you to do so.  I know I’ll never go back to those other processed peanut butters, the flavor is just so inferior.  So that’s my recommendation for the day! 🙂

And now here are the recipes.  The ingredients are mostly just an approximation, it’s the combination of them that’s the important thing.  Give these a try! 🙂

Peanut Butter, Banana, and Date Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1 heaping Tb of peanut butter
  • 2 dates, chopped
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 6 Tb milk

Directions:

Add oats and water to a small saucepan.  Cook over medium heat, stirring, until mixture begins to thicken, about 5 minutes.  Add remaining ingredients.  Cook and stir until mixture is heated through and thickened.

Peanut Butter, Banana, and Date Grilled Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 2 dates, chopped
  • peanut butter
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 2 slices of bread
  • butter

Directions:

Spread one slice of bread with peanut butter.  Layer banana slices on top, sprinkle with dates and a pinch of cinnamon.  Place the other slice of bread on top.  Melt some butter in your skillet, then grill the sandwich until toasty brown on both sides.  Yum!

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Sandwiches, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Peanut Butter, Bananas, and Dates, Oh My

  1. Cat, once again great minds think alike. That wrap from Ellie Krieger is what I have for breakfast almost every single day, lol. The combination is just amazing, isn’t it? I’ll have to try the sandwich and oatmeal – thanks for the ideas!

  2. I make a quick bread which has peanutbutter, dates and bananas. I love it- haven’t made it for a while, so maybe I’ll dust off the recipe and make it again. Your sandwich sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

