Homemade Breakfast Sausage

Here’s one last make-it-yourself recipe for y’all.  I only recently discovered myself how easy sausage is to make at home.  Now, I’ve watched my dad back home in Florida spend hours out in the garage grinding up meat for sausage after killing a wild hog, but I’d never really given much thought to trying it myself.  On a MUCH smaller scale, of course.  But now that I live in Canada, I can’t seem to find any breakfast sausage that I like from the store, so I decided to try making my own.

This recipe that I found on the Allrecipes website is just about perfect, I think.  The seasonings are exactly what I was looking for.  And here’s a tip for you-if you don’t happen to have ground pork on hand (and no fancy meat grinder in your garage), try using your food processor!  When I tried making sausage for the first time,  I chunked up some pork loin chops, threw them in my food processor and gave it a few pulses until the meat was ground.  Worked like a charm.

So if you’ve never made your own sausage,  I really encourage you to give it a try.  It’s so easy!  And once again, you know EXACTLY what’s gone into making it.

Breakfast Sausage

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs ground pork
  • 2 tsp dried sage
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp marjoram
  • 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 Tb brown sugar
  • pinch of ground cloves

Directions:

In a small bowl mix together the brown sugar and spices.  Place the ground pork in a large bowl, and sprinkle the spice mixture over.  Using your hands,  mix the pork and spices until everything is well combined.  Shape the pork into patties and brown in skillet.  You may need to add a little oil to the pan first if your pork is very lean.  You can also just dump the pork directly into the skillet if you want it crumbly and not in patties.  Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Pork, Stove-Top Meals

One response to “Homemade Breakfast Sausage

  1. Breakfast Saugage. Sounds good. We will be tempted to try it along with our new pancakes. If we get our heleocopter repaired so that it will fly again, we will have to take a weekend trip to Edmonton to try out some of your cooking. Don’t hold your breath. We will be in Lakeland Florida this week attending the Annual meeting of the Florida United Methodist Conference. Mildred is a delegate from our church. Then we will be working in our church Bible Schol June 21-25 so no time to cook special meals. Finaly we had 4 inches of rain this week. The flowers loved it.

Leave a Reply

