Make It Yourself Week! First Up-Fluffy Pancakes

Happy Memorial Day!  I hope all of you south of the border down there are having a great holiday weekend 🙂

As you can see from the title, this week is all about making it yourself!  Which means  all of my posts will be about foods that you may normally buy pre-packaged/boxed/bottled, whatever, at the store.  My goal is to show you how easy it is to make those things at home.  Your reward will be that you’ll save money, PLUS you’ll know exactly what’s gone into your food!  I try to avoid processed foods as much as I possibly can, and I’ve ended up with quite a collection of homemade substitutes and various homemade recipes in general that I thought I’d share 🙂

First up is a great recipe for pancakes.  Now a lot of you probably already have a favorite pancake recipe and that’s fine, but for those of you still stuck in the Bisquick pancake age, this recipe is for you.  This is a very easy recipe, and it makes some of the best pancakes I’ve ever tasted.  The recipe comes courtesy of the USA Fire and Rescue website’s recipe section, and you can also see video tutorials of the recipes at Amy’s Kitchen on youtube.  I actually stumbled onto the website after it was recommended by the host of my favorite youtube cooking channel, Betty’s Kitchen.  I love Betty, so of course I’m going to check out anything she recommends.  And if you need a good laugh, just wait for the bloopers at the end of Amy’s videos, they’re hilarious!

So now that you know what this week’s going to be all about, stay tuned to see what other things you can make yourself!  There may be some things you never knew you could make at home 🙂

Fluffy Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 Tb melted butter or margarine
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 Tb sugar
  • 1 Tb baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

With an electric mixer, beat the egg until fluffy.  Add remaining ingredients, and beat until mixture is smooth and well combined.  Coat a large skillet with cooking spray or melted butter.  Pour enough batter into the skillet to make the size pancakes you want.  Cook over medium heat until bubbles start to form, then flip pancakes over.  Once pancakes are cooked through, transfer to a serving plate.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

One response to “Make It Yourself Week! First Up-Fluffy Pancakes

  1. Ummmmm. This is Tuesday morning and I have much work to do today but just looking at your latest food—I am ready to pull MawMaw out of bed and trick her into making a big breakfast for us. We have been eating less in the mornings to keep healthy and trim but you know Poppa. I lovd to eat.

    We spent three days in Saint Petersburg last week for the Florida Retired Educators Meeting Had a good time– Busy with meetings– and now I have to get all this information to our officers in the local unit, Sumter County Retired Educators Unit. Mildred is our secretary and I am the new president for this year. We meet 8 times a year locally. We raise money for scholarships for those who want to teach.

Leave a Reply

