Macaroni and Cheese Deluxe

Happy Sunday everyone!  Take a look outside my back door with me:

No, your eyes are not deceiving you.  Almost June and we’re in the middle of a snowstorm. *Sigh*  I feel especially bad for my poor husband who’s out working in this weather today.  As a siding installer, his work is very much affected by the weather, and since we’ve been having such yucky weather lately, it’s put him behind schedule.  So even though it’s Sunday and the weather is awful, he’s at work.  I’ll have to give him some extra love and attention tonight 🙂

Yesterday we went out and bought some pepper plants to put in the garden out back.  I got a bell pepper plant and a banana pepper plant.  Unfortunately, I think it’s going to be a few days before I’ll be able to plant them!  But, on the positive side, I’m just happy to be able to grow them this year at all.  This is the first time, ever since I moved out on my own after college, that I’ve actually lived some place where I’ve had space to plant things.  So I’m excited about that, and I can’t wait to watch them grow.  And I’m even more anxious to pick my first peppers!

Let’s get on to the recipe I’m posting today for Potluck Sunday at Mommy’s Kitchen!  I added the Deluxe to this recipe because it’s fancier than your average mac and cheese and is different from what I’m used to eating.  If I make homemade mac and cheese, it’s usually the way my Mawmaw always made it, by layering cooked macaroni, butter, and cheese in a baking dish, pouring a can of milk over top, then baking it.  That will always be my favorite way of making it, but this time I wanted to try something a little different.

I adapted this recipe a bit from one I found over at Lynda’s Recipe Box.  If you’re looking for comfort food recipes,  her blog is the place to check out.  Jay and I gobbled this mac and cheese up!  If you can find and afford to splurge on panko breadcrumbs, I would definitely use them over regular breadcrumbs.  I had a box that had probably been sitting in my pantry for close to two years.  And had never been used until now.  Don’t ask me why, it’s a mystery to me too.  But I loved the crunchy topping they made.  Yum!

Macaroni and Cheese Deluxe

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups dry elbow macaroni, cooked and drained
  • 2 Tb butter
  • 2 Tb flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp dry mustard
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup evaporated milk
  • 8 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Topping:

  • 3/4 cup panko or regular breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tb melted butter

Directions:

Melt the butter in a large saucepan.  Add the flour.  Cook and stir for 1 minute.  Whisk in the dry mustard, milk and evaporated milk.  Cook and stir over medium heat until sauce has thickened.  Remove from heat and stir in cheddar cheese.  Once cheese has completely melted, stir in the macaroni and salt and pepper to taste.  Transfer to a greased 2 quart baking dish.

Mix together all the topping ingredients, and sprinkle over the top.  Bake at 350F  for 25 minutes or until golden and bubbly.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Pasta

Leave a Reply

