Fruit Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

I don’t know about y’all, but side dishes are the part of the meal that I get stumped on.  Main dish, no problem, but figuring out what to serve with that main dish is another story.  Which is probably one reason why I really like to make casseroles, soups and that sort of thing.  Usually all I need to do is make salad and some sort of bread to go with.  Well, the recipe I’m sharing today is also a salad, but it’s a fruit salad which I think is a nice change of pace.  I found this recipe the other day when I was flipping through an old Pillsbury cookbooklet from Sept. 1995 (the kind you find in the checkout lane at the grocery store) called Meals in Minutes.  I snagged it from my mom years ago but for some reason never made anything from it until now. 

I thought this salad was really tasty, and with it being strawberry season, now is the perfect time to make it.  If you don’t happen to have a bottle of poppy seed dressing in your fridge, for goodness sake, don’t go out and buy any!  It’s so easy to make.  I’m going to include a very simple recipe from my one cookbook that I could never do without, Betty Crocker’s Everything You Need to Know to Cook Today Cookbook.  I really encourage you to give it a try.

And now I’ll share a little something that happened this morning that brightened my day.  As you may or may not know, Jay and I recently moved into the basement suite of a home that sits on an acreage outside the city.  The homeowners upstairs, Valerie and Todd, are super nice, they’ve even brought us cookies a few times when Val was baking (and of course, I returned the favor).  Now, one thing that I’ve wanted for a long time now is a garden, and I’d seen the little garden patch out in the backyard, but I was being a chicken about asking if I would be able to have use of it (I blame it on my social anxiety). 

Well, this morning Val knocked on our door and said she was headed off to the greenhouse down the road and wanted to know if there was anything in particular I would like planted in the garden.  Wow!  I said I would love some tomatoes. How nice of her was that?!  So my wish is coming true, I will have a garden to pick yummy veggies from this summer 🙂  Isn’t it so nice when something unexpected like that happens?

Fruit Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1 (11 oz.) can mandarin orange segments, drained
  • 1 (8 oz.) can pineapple tidbits, drained
  • 1 1/2 cups sliced strawberries
  • 1/4 cup poppy seed dressing
  • lettuce leaves

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients except lettuce.  Toss to coat.  Serve salad on individual lettuc-lined plates.

Honey-Poppy Seed Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 Tb Dijon mustard (optional)
  • 1 Tb poppy seeds

Directions:

In a tightly covered container (such as a mason jar), shake all ingredients until well combined.  Store in refrigerator.  Shake well before serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Fruit, Salads

One response to “Fruit Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

  1. Wow! This sounds really yummy! I think I migh make this for the upcoming Memorial Day holiday festivities! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

