Beer Bread-The Easiest Bread You Will Ever Make

I’m not kidding when I say this bread is ridiculously easy to make.  In fact, I think you could be the worst bread baker in the world and still have success with this recipe.  I’ve seen recipes for beer bread on many cooking shows, blogs, and recipe sites and have always been curious.  We’re not big alcohol drinkers in my house (I could personally do without it altogether), but I do know how good it is to cook with.  So when Jay cracked open a beer recently that for some reason was already flat, and was about to pour it down the drain,  I went running across the kitchen yelling, “Noooo!”.  He was startled.  But he did not pour it down the drain.  Beer rescued!

So, flat beer in hand,  I turned to my favorite site to look for recipes,  Recipezaar.  This recipe for beer bread that I’m sharing was the top-rated one on the site.  With so few ingredients, I was really not expecting too much, which is why I made just half the recipe.  But I must agree with all the other great reviews, this bread is outstanding.  If you make the full recipe and bake it in a loaf pan like it’s intended to be baked,  I think it would make really great bread for sandwiches.  For those of you who don’t like the taste of beer,  I want to point out that this bread does not taste like beer.  As with most recipes that use beer or some other alcohol, it just adds depth of flavor without tasting beer-y.  This would make a great addition to your Memorial Day bbq ribs or chicken! 🙂

Beer Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups self-rising flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 (12 oz) can of beer
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375F.  Stir together flour, sugar, and beer until a thick, sticky batter forms.  Pour into a greased loaf pan, smoothing out the top a bit.  Pour the melted butter over top.  Bake for 1 hour, or until a knife inserted comes out clean.  Let rest 15 minutes before slicing.

Tip:

If you don’t have self-rising flour, don’t worry!  You can easily make your own.  For every 1 cup of flour, add 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp baking soda.

1 Comment

Filed under Breads

One response to “Beer Bread-The Easiest Bread You Will Ever Make

  1. Pingback: BBQ Cowboy Beans | Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

