Barbecue Baked Beans

 

Today I’m going to share my very favorite recipe for baked beans.  I have to admit, though, that as much as I love these beans, it had not actually been my intention to make them when I did a few days ago.  I had actually been trying a new recipe for making baked beans from scratch, using dried beans.  Well, I must have had really old beans and not realized it because Goodness Gracious it took them forever to cook!  I turned the crockpot on high around mid-afternoon and by 10pm when I finally turned the crockpot off, they still weren’t completely soft.  To add insult to injury, when Jay and I tried them the next day we didn’t even like them all that much.  So they ended up sitting in the refrigerator for several days before I decided to try salvaging them by throwing them in the crockpot again and making my favorite baked beans recipe.  Thankfully, all turned out well in the end 🙂  I guess it just goes to show that sometimes when you already have a good thing, you just shouldn’t mess with it.  At least, it’ll be a long time before I ever try my hand at making baked beans from scratch again!  I’m posting this recipe for Potluck Sunday at Mommy’s Kitchen.

So without further ado, here is the recipe for my favorite Barbecue Baked Beans.  It comes from a little cookbook that came with my first Rival crockpot (given to me by my big sis, though sadly the insert cracked a few years ago, so I had to get a new one).

Barbecue Baked Beans

Ingredients:

  • 5 slices bacon, crisply fried and crumbled
  • 2 16 oz. cans baked beans, drained
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp prepared mustard
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup barbecue sauce
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

Directions:

Mix all ingredients in crockpot.  Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Barbecue Baked Beans

  1. I can never make baked beans from scratch in the crock pot either….. These sound really yummy!

  2. Pingback: “Famous” Baked Beans | Little Kitchen on the Prairie

Leave a Reply

