Humble Chicken Stew

I had a humbling experience recently, and I’d like to share it with y’all if I may.  Last time I was at the library I checked out The Little House Cookbook by Barbara M. Walker.  I read and loved all of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books when I was little, so I thought this would be a neat read, and maybe I’d even find a few old-timey recipes to try.  Well, I came away with more than an interesting read and a few recipes, I came away feeling quite humbled.  There were times when all Ma Ingalls had to put on the table was a cornbread made of cornmeal, salt, and water, or a pot of beans.  And they were thankful even to have that little bit. 

Fast forward to today, and here I am inwardly moping every time I go grocery shopping over the fact that I can’t afford the fancier produce or the organic products.  Reading The Little House Cookbook made me realize just how fortunate and blessed I am.  And as I was making this chicken stew last night I thought about how I may not be able to afford fresh asparagus, filet mignon, or organic free-range eggs,  but I should be thankful for what I can afford  .  Because it’s a whole heck of a lot more than a lot of other people around the world have.

So I’ve renamed this dish Humble Chicken Stew because it is humble and uses inexpensive ingredients, but it’s also still tasty and nutritious.  It also changes just about every time I make it.  Whatever vegetables you have lying around that you think would go well together, well throw them in!  I’m going to type up the recipe the way I made it last night, but feel free to change it around and make it your own 🙂

You may also be wondering why I’m still making stews at the end of May.  Well, right now the temperature is hovering just above freezing here, winds are gusting to 50km, and there’s a 30% chance of snow flurries today.  And as I sit here at the computer I’m wearing sweatpants and whooly socks.  So you’ll have to excuse me if I’m not much in the mood for salads right now…  But if you’re having miserable weather like me right now, then this stew will be perfect for you! Hehe

Humble Chicken Stew

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 14 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp marjoram
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 cups diced potatoes
  • 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 1 cup chopped cabbage
  • 1/2 cup frozen green beans
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken, chopped
  • 1 tsp salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 Tb cornstarch dissolved in small amount of water

Directions:

In a large pot, cook onion in a small amount of oil until softened.  Add remaining ingredients except cornstarch mixture.  Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer about 30 minutes, until vegetables are tender and chicken is cooked through.  Stir in cornstarch slurry and simmer until stew has thickened.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicken, Soups/Stews

One response to “Humble Chicken Stew

  1. Ummmm. This stew looks so good and makes me hungry just looking at it.
    Chicken soup or stew is alwys good and more so in cool weather. I cannot imagine cold weather like that in May. Not everything that tastes good and is healthy for us has to be expensive. I am glad you are enjoying vegetables and lots of good herbs and flavorings.

Leave a Reply

