Hot Mocha, and the Scary Truth About Processed Meats

Did anyone else hear about the study that came out today that claims eating processed meats will increase your chance of getting heart disease by 42%? Ever since I heard about it on the news this morning and read this article,  I have been all in a panic!  Worrying that I’ve inadvertently made my husband more prone to heart disease.  Of course, we all know that hot dogs, frozen chicken nuggets, and bacon are something we should limit in our diet, but I’d never given a thought to deli meats.  With my husband working in construction (he’s a vinyl siding installer), he doesn’t have access to a nice office break room with a fridge and microwave.  So-you guessed it-he takes sandwiches for lunch everyday.  Lovingly prepared by me with deli meats that may shorten his lifespan! 

The wheels are already turning in my head now because no way am I going to continue on making the same sandwiches for him.  I’ve actually been thinking for a while about getting away from relying on deli meats and cooking up my own roast beef, turkey, and chicken for sandwiches and making more tuna and egg salads.  So this is definitely the kick in my behind that I needed!  Jay has also been wanting a microwave to put in his work trailor for quite some time, and I may just have to break down and agree to splurge on it.  We are talking about our health here.

I’m sure we won’t give up deli meats entirely (if you read my recent Score at the Store post, you know I have a huge deli roast turkey breast in my deep freeze), but like hotdogs and bacon, they’re going to be drastically limited now in my household.  What an eye-opener I’ve had today!

Okay, on to the next subject.  I admit that I LOVE coffee.  Oddly enough, I never drank much of it until a few years ago after Jay and I moved in together.  He drinks coffee daily, so I just kinda fell in with having a cup along with him. I especially love all the fancy flavored coffees.  The prices at the coffee shops are not really in our budget, though, except as a once in a while treat.   So when I was flipping through my Southern Living 1984 Annual Recipes cookbook the other day and saw this recipe, I decided to give it a try.  The verdict:  I really liked it!  It was very sweet, but I like sweet coffee.  If you don’t, then you know what to do.  It was nice to be able to have a fancy coffee at home.

Btw, I just realized this is the second post in a row that has my hand in the photo.  I didn’t plan that, it just happened!  And yes, I am left-handed.  Lefties unite!

Hot Mocha

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups strong hot coffee
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 3 Tb cocoa
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 cups milk (use half and half or heavy cream if you want a richer coffee)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Combine coffee, cinnamon, and nutmeg; stir well.  Set aside.  Combine sugar and cocoa in a saucepan; add water, stirring well.  Bring mixture to a boil.  Cook 3 minutes, stirring constantly.  Stir in milk;  heat just until mixture starts to boil.  Remove saucepan from heat, and stir in vanilla and coffee mixture.  Serve immediately.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Drinks

One response to “Hot Mocha, and the Scary Truth About Processed Meats

  1. I’m a lefty too! :o) And I WAS going to have a deli meat sandwich for lunch tomorrow. Guess I’ll find something else to take………….thanks for the heads up!

Leave a Reply

