My Herb Garden and a Super Squash Casserole

It’s another glorious morning here at my home!  Walking outside and just feeling that bright sunshine on my skin makes me feel all warm(literally) and fuzzy and happy inside.  In my previous post I mentioned I would be going out to buy herbs that day.  I thought I would let y’all see what I came home with.  Here they are sittin’ pretty on the south side of the deck.  From left to right, there’s oregano, spicy globe basil, rosemary, and chives.

And I also bought this funky little pot that has strawberry plants growing in it.  I’ve never bought strawberries this way before, so I’m hoping they do well in this pot. 

I just love growing things!  When Jay and I have a home of our own someday, I’m going to grow a garden every year.  I can almost taste already those fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, and peppers.  Well, until that day I can dream at least.

Now, for the second part of this post, here is a super delicious recipe for squash casserole.  Squash casserole, along with creamy butter beans, is one of my favorite Southern side dishes.  However, though I’ve tried numerous different recipes over the years, I’ve only found one or two that I felt were good enough to make twice.  This Squash and Zucchini Casserole from Southern Living is now going on that short list of elite squash casseroles!  I could have just had a big plate of it and nothing else for supper last night and been happy.

The only downside was that I had to use all zucchini.  I can only find summer squash here in Edmonton for a short time in late summer and at exactly one grocery store that I know of.  Normally I much prefer summer squash to zucchini, so if I even loved it with all zucchini, I can only imagine how good it will be once there’s fresh squash available!  I still had a little bit of stuffing mix left over after I made Stove Top Stuffing Pork Chops a while back but not quite enough for this recipe, so I crushed up some Ritz crackers as well.  Also, I’ve mentioned before about how I try to stay away from processed foods, canned condensed soups being a major one.  I found this great recipe on Recipezaar some time ago for Specialty Soup Substitutes.  It works like a charm and the soups literally take 5 minutes to make. 

Just look at that yummy casserole.  I’m getting hungry again just posting pictures!

Zucchini and Summer Squash Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs yellow squash
  • 1 lb zucchini
  • 1 small sweet onion, chopped
  • 2 1/2 tsp salt, divided
  • 1 cup grated carrots
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • 8 oz pkg herb-seasoned stuffing mix
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted (I went a little shy on this to shave calories)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Cut squash and zucchini into 1/4 inch thick slices.  Place in a large pot, adding onion, 2 tsp salt, and water to cover.  Bring to a boil, and cook for 5 minutes.  Drain well.

Stir together grated carrots, cream of chicken soup, sour cream, and remaining 1/2 tsp salt in a large bowl.  Fold in squash mixture.  Stir together stuffing mix and melted butter.  Spoon half of this into a lightly greased 13×9 baking dish.  Spoon squash mixture over, and then spoon remaining stuffing mixture over top.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until bubbly and golden brown.  Let stand a few minutes before serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Casseroles, Side Dishes, Vegetables

One response to “My Herb Garden and a Super Squash Casserole

  1. There is nothing like fresh herbs. And to be able to just cut them yourself is the best!!

Leave a Reply

