Cucumber, Tomato, and Sweet Onion Salad

That right there, folks, is summer in a jar.  Ain’t it pretty?  Fritz thinks so:

I know it’s not summer yet, but the season is so short here that I’m getting a head start on things.  I’m in a good mood this morning because I can just feel that today’s going to be a good day.  The sun is shining, the birds are singing, and with a forecasted high of 81F, that’s above average even for summer!  This afternoon I’ll be at the store buying herbs, and then I get to play around in the dirt planting them 🙂

Okay, let’s get back to the recipe.  This salad really is the essence of summer to me.  Give me a helping of it along with some cold slices of ham, potato salad, and maybe some bread and butter, and I think that’s just about the perfect meal for a hot summer day.  I think you’ll agree with me too once you try it 🙂

I’m posting this recipe for Potluck Sunday at Mommy’s Kitchen.

Cucumber, Tomato, and Sweet Onion Salad

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium cucumbers, sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 1 medium sweet onion, sliced
  • 3 medium tomatoes, cut into wedges
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Combine all ingredients together, stirring well to make sure everything is well coated.  Refrigerate for at least 4-6 hours.  I like to put the salad in mason jars, that way you can see all the pretty colors.

2 Comments

Filed under Salads, Vegetables, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Cucumber, Tomato, and Sweet Onion Salad

  1. I think that looks pretty in the jar, too!

  2. Barbara Crist

    I want to share a recipe my mom made:
    tomato wedges
    onion chunks
    green pepper strips
    mix 1/4 cup oil
    1/4 cup brown sugar
    1/4 cup vinegar
    Pour over the vegetables. Refrigerate for about an hour. You can double or triple the recipe, just remember to use equal amounts of each item of the dressing.

Leave a Reply

