Spicy Mulligatawny Soup

I consider myself fairly adventurous in the kitchen.  Like most of you probably, I go through phases when all I want is simple comfort food, and other phases when I have fun branching out and trying new foods.  But, and I mean no offense here, Indian food is something I’ve just never been interested in.  Any time I’ve even smelled it cooking, it’s just been off-putting to me.  I did try making a chicken curry dish once because I thought, how can I really know whether I like Indian food unless I give it a try.  Well, that dish didn’t do anything towards improving my opinion.  I decided to be brave, though, and give Indian food one more try.  I chose this recipe from Cooking Light, and while I know Mulligatawny Soup is more of an Anglicized dish and not really authentic Indian, it’s still got those Indian flavors that make me nervous.

You know what?  Jay and I LOVED this dish!  I think the chutney was the key ingredient for us, it helped round out the flavors so we didn’t just taste the curry powder and lent a really nice sweet-spicy flavor to the dish.  I used my homemade pineapple chutney, but I’m sure the mango chutney is really yummy too.  Now, I’m not going to suddenly go cooking up a storm of Indian dishes, and it’s never going to be one of my favorite cuisines, but at least I’ve found one dish that I really enjoy 🙂 

Spicy Mulligatawny Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb chicken breast, cubed
  • 1 cup peeled, chopped Gala apple
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrot
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 2 Tb flour
  • 1 Tb curry powder
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup mango chutney
  • chopped fresh cilantro
  • rice or couscous

Directions:

Season chicken with salt and pepper.  In a Dutch oven, saute chicken until browned.  Remove and set aside.  Add apple, onion, carrot, celery, and bell pepper to pot.  Cook until softened.  Sprinkle over flour and spices.  Cook and stir 1 minute.  Add the chicken back, along with tomato paste, chicken broth, and chutney.  Simmer 15-20 minutes until vegetables are tender and soup has thickened.  Serve over rice or couscous.  Sprinkle with fresh cilantro.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Soups/Stews, Stove-Top Meals

Leave a Reply

