Buttermilk Biscuits-A Thing of Beauty

 

Not all biscuits are created equal.  But I do believe a well-made biscuit is a thing of beauty.  And when you pop that hot morsel of flaky goodness in your mouth fresh from the oven, you should be able to say to yourself, “Now THAT’S a biscuit”.  At the risk of sounding like I’m tooting my own horn (Oh, who am I kidding.  I’m tootin’ it loud and proud!),  I make pretty darn good biscuits. 

 At the risk of also sounding somewhat corny,  I feel almost like I’m carrying on some sort of sacred tradition.  How many of us Southern women have stopped making, or never even learned how to make, homemade biscuits now that it’s so easy to just pop open a can from the store?  I never saw my own mom, who was busy with two kids and a full-time job as a teacher, make biscuits from scratch (Sorry Mom, I know you’ll read this!)  It’s something I had to learn on my own. 

I once got my Mawmaw talking about how life was for her growing up, and she said her mother made biscuits every morning and sometimes even twice a day.  She kept her flour in a kitchen drawer so it would always be right at hand.  So now when I make them, I think back to my great-grandmother, Ella Mae Jay,  who spent every morning rolling out biscuits for her family on their Georgia farm. I think of all my other ancestors before her, and I feel like I’m carrying a bit of their spirit and tradition within me. I’m fiercely proud of my Southern heritage, especially now that I’m probably the only one of my kind for many many miles around here.

As for the recipe I use and how I make them,  it took a lot of searching and trial and error before I found what I believe to be the perfect biscuit.  I stumbled upon the recipe at a great blog called Food Wishes.  The recipe can be found here.  The first time I made them and took them out of the oven,  I just had to stand there in awe at such a marvelous creation (You think I’m joking, but I really did).  Chef John has a great step-by-step video tutorial on how to make them, so if you’re new to biscuit-making, I suggest you watch the video first before diving in.  And especially if you’ve never made them before, in honor of your Southern grannies (what the heck, in honor of grannies everywhere!), get in the kitchen and make some biscuits already!

1 Comment

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch

One response to “Buttermilk Biscuits-A Thing of Beauty

  1. Pingback: Everyone’s Favorite-Chicken Noodle Soup | Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

