Spinach Baked Ziti

I’m a very picky meat eater and could happily eat mostly vegetarian meals if my other half wasn’t a mega-carnivore.  His reaction when we have steak for dinner? “Red meat good!” *grunt*  Yes, my friends, I married a Neanderthal.  But don’t most married women come to that conclusion at some point? Hehe.

So I’m always happy when I find a recipe sans dead animal that we both enjoy.  Really, it’s hard to go wrong when pasta and cheese are paired together.  This is a recipe I adapted from one I found on Recipezaar, my favorite online site to look for recipes. I was searching for something to do with a bunch of fresh spinach that was on the verge of going bad.  We both pigged out on this (I was extra bad and even snuck in a few more bites when I was putting leftovers away).  I think the pesto is really what gives this dish that extra something.  I used homemade pesto from my freezer, which I’m trying to use up because I know I’ll  have another mountain of basil again this summer from my herb garden.  I think you’ll really like this recipe!

Spinach Baked Ziti

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup pesto sauce
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 10 oz penna pasta (I used cavatappi)
  • 6 oz fresh spinach, chopped
  • 6 oz mozzarella cheese, cut into small cubes
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cook pasta until al dente.  Drain and set aside.

In a saucepan, saute onion and garlic until softened.  Add tomatoes and simmer until slightly thickened, about 10 minutes.  Stir in pesto sauce and red pepper flakes.  Transfer to a large bowl, and add the pasta, chopped spinach, and mozzarella cheese.  Stir until the spinach begins to wilt.  Pour into a greased baking dish.  Sprinkle Parmesan cheese on top.

Bake at 375F for 30 minutes or until bubbly.

1 Comment

Filed under Pasta, Vegetarian

One response to “Spinach Baked Ziti

  1. I love pasta, I love cheese, I love spinach! And I love the addition of pesto, I’ve never had pesto in baked ziti before. Sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

