Score at the Store! And My Favorite Granola

No, the items you see above you are not ingredients for a recipe (that would be a strange recipe, indeed).  They are what I bought yesterday at this amazing little liquidation store my husband recently found.  It was a bargain shopper’s heaven!  For those of you on a budget like me, I’m sure you can understand my excitement.  The grocery section was full of items that the major chain stores had discarded, mostly things that are nearing their expiration or are slightly expired.  I know some people may wrinkle their noses at that, just as some people wrinkle their noses at buying thrift store clothes, but I have no problem with it.  I know the food is fine, and the prices were amazing!  I think I was most excited at the lunchmeats I got.  That huge turkey breast roast is the same thing they sell at the deli section of the grocery store, and I bought it for a fraction of the cost I would have paid at the deli.  I don’t mind having to take a little extra time to slice it myself.  I definitely plan on shopping there regularly from now on.

Anyway, I just wanted to share with y’all the great find I made yesterday 🙂  Do any of you have places like this that you shop at to save money?

To continue on with the money-saving theme today, I thought I would share my favorite recipe for homemade granola.  Like most granola recipes, this one is not set in stone.  Add whatever nuts and dried fruit you like best.  The walnuts just happen to be extra high in Omega-3’s, and this is meant to be a very heart-healthy granola.  Enjoy!

Cinnamon-Walnut Granola

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 2 Tb sesame seeds (optional)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins or dried cranberries

Directions:

Combine rolled oats, walnuts, ground flaxseed, and sesame seeds.  Set aside.

In a small saucepan, combine the brown sugar, honey, olive oil, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.  Heat until sugar is dissolved and bubbles begin to form.  Pour over the rolled oat mixture, and stir until everything is well coated. 

Spread out on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake at 275F for 30 minutes, stirring once halfway through.  Cool, then stir in dried fruit.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch

3 responses to “Score at the Store! And My Favorite Granola

  1. Cam

    There is a place in our town called the “Deli Warehouse.” On a good day, you can get 10 lbs of chicken breasts for $10. They have the cheap deli meats and other meats. My favorite part are the fruits and veggies that were obviously “rejects.” One day I brought home several pounds of strawberries for super cheap and sliced them and froze them. They can be very helpful sometimes.

  2. Pingback: Hot Mocha, and the Scary Truth About Processed Meats « Cookin' with Cat

  3. Pingback: Date-Pecan Granola « Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

