Classic Betty Crocker! Hamburger Pizza

I love finding cookbooks at thrift stores.  In fact, I think I prefer cookbooks that are a little worn around the edges to brand new cookbooks.  I always wonder who owned that book before me and what were their favorite recipes.  Sometimes I’ll find books that have little penciled in comments next to recipes.  My mom has always put little smiley or sad faces next to recipes, and without even thinking about it, I’ve ended up doing the same.  Does anybody else do this?  Well, if I ever part with any of my cookbooks someday, the next person who owns them will have a heads up on which recipes are good and not so good!

This recipe for Hamburger Pizza comes from one of my recent thrift store finds, the Betty Crocker Best Recipes for Ground Meat cookbook.  Good ol’ Betty, she’s never yet let me down. Making this recipe brought back memories because I remember my mom making something similar when I was a kid.  This actually turned out more like a casserole than a pizza. Jay and I found it easiest to eat with a fork rather than our hands.  I really liked the Bisquick crust, it had a biscuit-like texture.  The chopped tomato on top was my own addition, and really, you could add whatever other pizza toppings you like.  This was super quick to put together since there was no rising time needed for the crust.  With a salad to go alongside, this was a perfect Friday night meal 🙂

Hamburger Pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups baking mix(I used Bisquick)
  • 1 heaping tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/3 cup warm water
  • 1/2 lb ground beef
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 7 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar or mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese(I omitted this)
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped (optional)

Directions:

Combine yeast and warm water.  Allow to sit for a few minutes until proofed. Stir in baking mix until mixture forms a ball.  Turn out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth, about 20 times.  Let dough rest a few minutes.

While dough is resting, brown the ground beef along with onion and pepper.  Drain off any fat.  Stir in tomato sauce, oregano, and black pepper.  Set aside.

Roll out the dough into a rectangle large enough to fit a 13×9 pan. Place into ungreased baking pan, pinching the edges to make a slight rim.  Spread meat mixture almost to the edges.  Top with chopped tomato, if desired, and cheeses.  Bake at 425F for 15-20 minutes or until the crust is brown and the filling is hot and bubbly.  Cut into squares to serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beef, Casseroles, Pizza

Leave a Reply

