Kernel Austin, or Texas-style smoky corn and black bean salad

Well, the sun is finally shining again today after that crazy snow storm we had yesterday!   It’s still really chilly outside, but in a few days the snow should melt away, and then maybe it’ll start to feel more like spring again.  I decided to step outside to snap a few pictures so y’all can see what my neck of the woods looks like right now.  Already a good bit of the snow has melted but, as you can see, there’s still plenty left.

Btw, I want to point out the new tab on the main page titled My Kitchen.  I finally got around to putting together a little tour of my humble kitchen, so if you’re interested, check it out 🙂 

And now for today’s recipe in honor of Cinco de Mayo!  You know, I completely forgot today was May 5.  That would never have happened if I was back home in Florida!  So, in lieu of what I was originally planning on posting today, I decided to post something more Mexican-themed.  This recipe comes from one of my very favorite cookbooks called Eat, Shrink, and Be Merry by Janet and Greta Podleski.  They’re quite popular here in Canada, they even have their own show on the Food Network, but I’m sure most of you down in the US have never heard of them.  My mom owns all of their cookbooks only because I recommended them to her.  I just love them, they’re full of recipes that are good for you, but don’t have that too healthy taste. 

This salad is great eaten all by itself, or as a side dish, or as a dip with some tortilla chips.  However you serve it, I do hope you’ll give it a try, I think you’ll like it 🙂

Kernel Austin

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 4 cups whole-kernel corn(if using frozen corn, thaw first)
  • 1/2 cup minced red onions
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced(optional)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp each ground cumin and chili powder
  • 1 cup quartered grape tomatoes or 1 cup diced red bell pepper(I used a combo of both)
  • 1 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 Tb freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 2 Tb chopped cilantro
  • 1 Tb hickory-flavored bbq sauce
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a large, non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add corn.  Cook and stir until corn just begins to char(don’t burn!), about 8 minutes or so.  Add onions, jalapeno, garlic, cumin, and chili powder.  Cook and stir 1 more minute.  Remove from heat.

Transfer corn mixture to a large bowl, and add remaining ingredients.  Mix well.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Salads, Side Dishes

Leave a Reply

