Homemade Catalina Dressing and Winter in May

This morning I was utterly disgusted when I looked out our windows.  Snow!!!  Wet, heavy snow and winds blowing up to 80 km/hr.  What happened to spring?? UGH is what I have to say. UGH!  What I wouldn’t give for some warm weather and sunshine right now.  Ah well.  I suppose it could always be worse, right?  This weather has me in the mood for hot comfort food, so I’ve got some chicken quarters in the crockpot right now which will be used for making chicken and dumplings tonight.  I’m trying a different recipe from the one I usually make, and, if all goes well, I’ll post it tomorrow.

And now I just have to post a few pictures of our cute kitty cats before I get on to the recipe for today.  They’ve been fascinated this morning by the snow blowing against the windows.  Our little grey cat, Fritz, is a Manx, and she can jump up in the window just fine, but our porky one, Shadow, can’t, so I have to help her chunky butt up.  She’s also half Manx, and I just have to say that I LOVE Manx cats, they’re such neat animals.

 

 

 

Okay, now to the recipe I’m posting today!  I’ve recently become committed to making the majority of our salad dressings myself.  And while I know I’ll never be able to wean Jay off store-bought Ranch dressing, I’ll consider it a success if he just tries the dressings I make.  I adapted this recipe from one I found on Recipezaar and while it doesn’t taste exactly like Catalina dressing from the store(which happens to be my very favorite salad dressing), I still thought it tasted really good.  It’s definitely something I’ll make again, so I thought I would share my tasty find with you all 🙂  Enjoy!  And I hope the weather where you are is better than mine…

Catalina Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • 1/2 tsp dry mustard
  • dash of paprika
  • 2 tsp dried minced onion
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 2/3 cup ketchup
  • 1 cup vegetable oil

Directions:

Place everything into a blender, and process until smooth.  Store in a jar in the refrigerator.

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads

Leave a Reply

