Sausage, Potato, and Egg Skillet Hash

Good morning everyone!  I can’t chat for long today, Jay and I are moving on Wednesday, and I still have lots of cleaning and packing to do.  You don’t realize just how much stuff you have until you start packing it!  Even myself, who, if ever there was the opposite of a hoarder, it would be me. I cannot stand clutter of any kind! Maybe once we’re all settled in, I’ll give y’all a little tour of the new home.  It’s the basement suite of a home that sits on an acreage outside the city.  It’s very roomy and, surprisingly, full of light.  I’ll have a modern kitchen with new appliances, even my very own washer and dryer!  I can’t wait to start a little herb garden on the large wrap-around deck and go for walks down our quiet country road.  Jay, of course, is most excited about being a skip and a hop away from the North Sasketchewan River  where he loves to fish.  It’s not a home all our own yet, but it’s definitely a step up for us, and it’ll feel more like home than our apartment.

Now for the recipe I’m bringing you today!  Jay and I love breakfast for dinner, and this was an easy meal to whip up after a long day of packing.  Remember those tortillas I made last week?  We used them to make breakfast burritos with this hash.  It’s just as great all on it’s own, though.  However, I’m sure some buttermilk biscuits and jam on the side wouldn’t go unappreciated.  Sometimes I really get a hankering for some hearty comfort food, and this recipe hit the spot.

This will be my last post until after we’ve moved.  I’m hoping to get quickly unpacked and settled in, but I imagine I won’t be back until at least the end of the week.  So until then, I hope everyone has a great week, and I’ll be back soon! 🙂

Sausage, Potato, and Egg Skillet Hash

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb breakfast sausage
  • 3-4 cups peeled potatoes, finely diced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup bell pepper, chopped
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • shredded cheddar cheese, optional

Directions:

In a large skillet, brown the sausage until cooked through.  Remove, and set aside.  Drain all but 1-2 tablespoons of fat from the skillet, and add potatoes.  Season with salt and pepper(I use Paula Deen’s House Seasoning).  Cover with a lid, and cook 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally until browned.  Just before potatoes are done, add in the onion and bell pepper.  Cook until they have softened.  Give your eggs a final whisk, and add them to the skillet.  Cook and stir until the eggs are done.  Sprinkle cheese over the top.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast/Brunch, Stove-Top Meals

Leave a Reply

