Oven Fries with Spicy Gravy

I have a confession to make, y’all.  A few days ago I tried my hand at making a fancy-pants pork and black bean chilli recipe.  Sounds like it could be good, right?  That’s what I thought too.  What actually happened was that I wasted a bunch of ingredients on something that tasted pretty darn awful.  So that disaster left me moping around the apartment feeling like a kitchen failure.  When I get into a funk like that I usually turn to my tried and true recipes, comfort foods that I can redeem myself with(and that make me feel like a kitchen superstar again!).  I’d already been planning on making this recipe today, though, as part of Taste and Tell’s Saturdays with Rachael Ray, so I took a chance on trying a new recipe so soon after my chilli disaster.

Well, I needn’t have worried because it turned out great!  Rachael Ray’s personality can be a little grating to me, but she sure can cook. It may sound strange to some of you(I’d never heard of it before moving here), but eating fries with gravy is really popular here in Canada.   You can order gravy to go with your fries at most restaurants and fast food places, and if your fries are topped with gravy and cheese, it’s called a poutine.  That’s how I decided to serve this dish, but the original recipe doesn’t call for cheese.  To season the potatoes, I used Paula Deen’s House Seasoning which, besides Tony Chachere’s Creole Seasoning, is probably my favorite seasoning blend to use in the kitchen.  I think you’ll really enjoy this recipe if you give it a try 🙂

Oven Fries with Spicy Gravy

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium baking potatoes, cut into wedges
  • olive oil
  • steak seasoning, or your favorite seasoning blend
  • 3 Tb butter
  • 2 Tb flour
  • 2 Tb grainy mustard(I used horseradish Dijon)
  • 2 Tb Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • shredded mozzarella cheese(optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450F.  Toss potatoes with a few tablespoons of olive oil and your choice of seasoning.  Spread out onto a cookie sheet, and bake for 35-45 minutes, flipping once, until browned and crispy.

For the gravy, melt butter in a saucepan.  Whisk in flour, and let mixture cook for 1 minute.  Whisk in mustard, Worcestershire sauce, and stock.  Cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally,  until the gravy has thickened enough to coat the back of a spoon.  Serve in small cups with the fries alongside for dipping.  Or if you want to serve the recipe like I did, place the fries in a shallow bowl, spoon the gravy over top, and sprinkle with cheese.

2 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes, Vegetables

2 responses to “Oven Fries with Spicy Gravy

  1. Poutine!!!! We’ll turn you into a real Canadian yet, lol. ;o) The gravy sounds so easy, wow! I have to give this a try. Thanks for posting!

  2. I used to have a roommate that was from Canada, I’m familiar with the gravy and fries! This looks wonderful. Thanks for playing along and I hope you can join in again next week!

Leave a Reply

