They’re Easy! Flour Tortillas

This was not something I originally planned on posting here, but as I was making up a batch of these tortillas yesterday I thought there might be some of you out there that would be interested in learning how to make them as well.  Now I’ll be the first to admit that I am not a master tortilla maker,  and am certainly not in the same league as the Mexican neighbors we had when I was a kid.  I don’t think anything can top their home-made tortillas!  But even with my Southern, lily-white tortilla-making skills, I still manage to produce some pretty tasty tortillas.  They’re not always the prettiest things, but we won’t worry about the minor details 🙂

With just a little practise, I think you’ll find the process of making your own flour tortillas to be really quick and easy.  As you get the process down, you can also start experimenting with adding different spices and ingredients to make your own flavored tortillas. It’s so much cheaper than paying those ridiculous prices for flavored tortillas in the store!  My motto in the kitchen is,  “If I can make it myself at home, why buy it at the store?”.  It may take a little planning ahead, but that way I know exactly what’s gone into my food, and I’ve saved money at the store as well.  It’s a win-win situation!

Oh and btw, Happy Earth Day!  As I look outside today and see the blue sky, green grass, and new growth on the trees it makes me more determined than ever to do my little part in helping the environment.  Over the past few years, Jay and I have done our best to “go green” by switching out all our lights to compact florescent ones, recycling everything we possibly can, and using cloth bags at the grocery store to name a few things.  And I always check the garbage can whenever I’m in the laundry room because people are always throwing away their empty detergent bottles even though we have a recycling bin just outside the building!   It’s a shame, but I’m proud that Jay and I are doing our part at least.  So if you haven’t already, give some thought today on what you can do to make your home more environmentally friendly 🙂 Reduce, Reuse, Recycle!


Flour Tortillas

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 Tb canola oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup lukewarm water

Directions:

Stir together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in canola oil with a fork until it’s evenly dispersed, and there are no large clumps.  Stir in just enough water until the dough comes together(you may need a bit more or less than the 1 cup).  Turn out onto a floured surface and knead a few times until smooth.  Divide the dough equally into 12 balls.  Cover with a tea towel, and let rest for 15 minutes.

Roll the dough balls out into circles, rotating the dough a quarter turn at a time while you roll.  Or you can cheat like I sometimes do, and just place a plate or bowl that has the circumference you want on top of the dough, and cut around it.  Or if you don’t mind funky shaped tortillas, you can just leave them as they are!  Place the tortillas one at a time in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Once large air pockets start forming on one side of the tortilla, it’s time to flip it on the other side.  It should take less than a minute on each side.  That’s all there is to it!


Leave a comment

Filed under Breads

Leave a Reply

