Orange Sweet-and-Sour Chicken with Broccoli

Happy Monday everyone!  What a wonderful day it’s shaping up to be here already.  Clear blue sky, and it’s already 48F with a fore-casted high of 73F . Ooh heat wave!  It’s funny, if I was back home in Florida I’d be hauling out my warmest jacket this morning and thinking brrr it’s so cold.  And here I am today in shorts and a tank top while typing this post!  It’s not unusual for there to still be ice and snow on the ground here this time of year, so I am LOVING this warm weather we’re having.

Last night was stir-fry night here at the Berner household.  I really don’t know why I rarely make stir-fries since Jay and I both love them.  The recipe I made comes from Cooking Light.  I love Cooking Light and was really thrilled to get a gift subscription this past Christmas from my mom.  Yay!  The original recipe calls for a green bell pepper and a red bell pepper, but I happened to have a bunch of broccoli on hand, so I decided to use that instead.  It worked like a charm!  In fact, I think I probably prefer the broccoli over the bell peppers.  However, if you want to try the original recipe, just cut your bell peppers into strips and add them to the pan along with the onions, garlic, and ginger.

I made basmati rice to serve it over which is always a tricky thing for me.  Rice has pretty much become my arch-nemesis in the kitchen.  For the life of me, I cannot ever cook it perfectly.  It just seems determined to thwart me at every turn.  Last night was not a bad night, the rice turned out ever so slightly crunchy but mostly okay.  A success in my book! 🙂

Btw,  I know I’m far from being the world’s best photographer, so just trust me that the final product is tastier than the photo may imply.  The new home Jay and I are moving to next week should have better lighting than this dismal apartment!

Orange Sweet-and-Sour Chicken with Broccoli

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken thighs or breasts, cut into thin strips
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 3 Tb soy sauce
  • 2 Tb honey
  • 2 Tb rice vinegar
  • 1 Tb cornstarch
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger(I probably used twice as much)
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 2-3 cups chopped broccoli, steamed until crisp-tender

Season chicken with salt and pepper.  Add to a hot skillet coated with 1 Tb of oil, and cook until chicken is browned on all sides and cooked through.  While the chicken is cooking, whisk together the orange juice and next 4 ingredients.  Set aside. Remove chicken from the pan, and set aside.  Add onion, garlic, and ginger to the pan, and cook for 1 minute.  Add the steamed broccoli, and cook another 2-3 minutes.  Add the orange juice mixture, and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat, and simmer until mixture has thickened slightly.  Add the chicken back to the pan, and cook until heated through.  Serve over rice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Stove-Top Meals

Leave a Reply

