Apple-Pecan Muffins

Today I’m participating for the first time in Potluck Sunday over at Mommy’s Kitchen.  Yay!  Go check out her blog to see what it’s all about 🙂  These muffins come from my cookbook The Food You Crave by Ellie Krieger.  I LOVE her cookbooks.  I’ve had great luck with her recipes, and I also like the helpful nutrition facts she scatters throughout her books.  Regarding muffins she advises to cut the fact, but don’t eliminate it, use heart-healthy oils and fruit and vegetable purees, and use whole-grain or whole-wheat flour.  This muffin recipe definitely fits the bill, and it’s really tasty to boot!

For anyone who stopped by my blog earlier today, I’ve decided to delete the little rant I posted here earlier about my evening out last night.  I was able to vent to my husband tonight and am putting the whole ordeal behind me.  So no need to vent on my blog.  I want this to be a place just for happy thoughts!

I hope you’ve all had a great Sunday!  🙂

Apple-Pecan Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup plus 2 Tb packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole-grain pastry flour or whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup natural unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 Golden Delicious apple, peeled and chopped

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F.  Grease a 12-cup muffin pan.

In a small bowl, mix together 2 Tb brown sugar, the pecans, and cinnamon.  Set aside.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda and salt.  In another bowl, whisk the remaining 3/4 cup brown sugar and oil until combined.  Add the eggs one at a time, whisking well after each addition.  Whisk in the applesauce and vanilla. Stir in the flour mixture in two batches, alternating with buttermilk, just until combined.  Gently fold in the chopped apple.

Pour the batter into the prepared muffin pan, filling each about two-thirds full, and sprinkle with the pecan streusel.  Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Let cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes before removing from the pan.

4 Comments

Filed under Breads, Breakfast/Brunch

4 responses to “Apple-Pecan Muffins

  1. Cat, I have Ellie’s cookbook, So Easy, and I absolutely love it! Everything I’ve made from it has been fantastic. And I’m sorry about your night last night. Too bad we live 2,700 km apart.

  2. The muffins look really good. I have been on a mufffin hunt for my little muffin man Carson. I think he would love these, minus the pecans. Thank you for participating in Potluck Sunday, I hope you will link up every week.

    Tina

  3. These look wonderful!

Leave a Reply

