Pure Comfort Food-Stove Top Stuffing Pork Chops

Where, oh where,  have these been all my life?  I can’t believe I went 29 years before tasting the awesomeness of these pork chops.  Okay, that’s a bit dramatic, but hooo boy! these pork chops are SUPER good.  Not just good, SUPER good.  Now, one thing you’ll come to learn about me as this blog goes along is that I’m not a fan of canned/boxed/jarred convenience products.  Oh, I’ll buy the occasional jar of Ragu when it’s on sale, but for the most part, I try to steer clear.  But I just so happened to have a half-used box of Stove Top stuffing mix that had been sitting in my cupboard for the past year or so(See, even when I do buy them, they end up sitting in my cupboards forever) and since Jay and I are moving shortly, now seemed a good time to get that used up.

I found this simple recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook and thought I’d give it a try.  The pork chops turned out really moist(I’m bad about cooking really dry chops) and smelled heavenly in the oven.  I’m sure part of their super-goodness is probably due to the ridiculous amounts of sodium in the stuffing mix, but then this isn’t something I’ll be making all the time.  Once in a while convenience product treat 🙂    Yum!

Stove Top Stuffing Pork Chops

Ingredients:

  • 4 pork chops
  • 1 cup herbed stuffing mix, finely crushed
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tb milk
  • 2 Tb melted butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425F.  Pour melted butter in a 13×9 baking pan, tilting the pan to coat the bottom. In a shallow bowl, whisk together the egg and milk.  Place the crushed stuffing mix in another bowl.  Dip the pork chops first in the egg mixture, then in the stuffing mixture.  Place them into the baking pan, then flip them over to the other side so that both sides are coated in the butter.  Bake for 10 minutes on one side, then flip them, and bake 10-15 minutes on the other side until cooked through.

1 Comment

Filed under Pork

One response to “Pure Comfort Food-Stove Top Stuffing Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: My Herb Garden and a Super Squash Casserole « Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

