Personal Pan Pizzas!

Last night was pizza night in my kitchen.  I LOVE to make pizzas, in fact, they’re probably one of my very favorite things to make. They’re pretty much a fool-proof meal, just throw your favorite ingredients onto a pizza crust, top it all with cheese, and let it bake until gooey and melty.  And if the ingredients you picked end up not going together as well as you expected, well, cheese makes everything taste better!

A few nights ago Jay requested ham & pineapple pizza, and since he so rarely puts in a specific request, I like to oblige him when he does.  But I also had some other ingredients lying around that I wanted to use up, so I decided to make two personal pan pizzas, one a ham & pineapple and the other a turkey club pizza.  I’m not going to give a recipe for each, since the ingredients are pretty much all to taste, but I will just give you a rundown of what I did.

For the ham & pineapple pizza, I spread a thin layer of pizza sauce over the crust, topped that with some julienned ham, pineapple chunks, and cheddar cheese.  For the turkey club pizza, I mixed together a few tablespoons of mayonnaise with a squirt of lemon juice and a sprinkle of dried basil.  I spread this over the crust then topped it with some cooked ground turkey(deli or rotisserie turkey would be great, I just happened to have the ground kind), cooked and crumbled bacon, tomato slices, and cheddar cheese.

Here are the pizzas ready to go into the oven:

And here they are after baking:

They turned out great, though I did find myself wishing I had put a little more cheese on the turkey club pizza.  Ah well.  I am going to include the recipe I use for pizza dough.  I found the recipe on Food Wishes.com, and it originally came from Wolfgang Puck.  It’s pretty much my go-to pizza dough recipe now.  It’s super easy to make, and I like that it makes two 12-inch pizzas, so if you don’t need that much you can just stick the other half in the freezer for later. Or cut the recipe in half.  Whatever makes you happy.

One thing I want to mention regarding pizza dough is that I always pre-bake it in the oven for about 10 minutes, just until it starts to turn color, before adding my toppings.  I’ve seen many people on tv and other blogs just throw their toppings on an un-baked crust and pop it into the oven.  I’ve tried that before and always end up with a limp, soggy crust.  I don’t know if there’s something I’m doing wrong?  But I’ve found that if I briefly bake the crust first, I end up with a perfect slightly crispy, slightly chewy crust.  So that’s how I’ve typed up the directions, but feel free to keep using your favorite method.

Pizza Dough

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg(2 1/4 tsp) dry active yeast
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tb olive oil

Directions:

In a large bowl stir together the yeast, honey, and 1/4 cup water.  Let stand for 10 minutes until yeast is foamy.  Add salt, oil, remaining water, and 1 cup flour. Mix until everything is combined.  Add another 1 cup flour, and mix again.  Add another 1/2 cup flour.  Turn out onto a floured surface, and knead for 5 minutes, adding as much of the remaining 1/2 cup flour as needed. Place into a greased bowl, cover, and let rise in a warm place until doubled.

Punch dough down, then divide into two sections on a floured surface(or four sections for personal pan size pizzas).  Cover with a tea towel and let rise again for 20-30 minutes.  Roll dough out on the counter or use your hands to pat into a pizza pan.  Bake at 425F for 10 minutes or until just lightly browned.  Remove from oven, and add your favorite toppings.  Return to the oven for 10-15 minutes until cheese is melted and crust is golden brown.

2 Comments

Filed under Breads, Pizza

2 responses to “Personal Pan Pizzas!

  1. Pingback: Homemade Pizza Sauce « Cookin' with Cat

  2. Pingback: Tuscan Chicken Pizza | Cookin' with Cat

Leave a Reply

