Souper Monday! Ham and Potato Soup

Hello everyone out there!  Hope y’all had a great weekend and are feeling all perky and refreshed this Monday morning.  Not feelin’ it yet, you say?  Uh oh, looks like someone’s got a case of the Mondays!  Bonus points if you know what movie that’s from.  And yes, I did just want an excuse to throw that line in there.

I know spring is supposed to be here and all, but I think our neck of the woods missed the memo.  We’ve still got patches of snow on the ground from a cold front that blew through last week.  And I mean BLEW through, we had crazy winds for a few days.  Things have calmed down, but it’s still chilly here, making it perfect soup weather.  I’ve had this recipe for Ham and Potato Soup for a long time, and everyone I’ve given the recipe to just loves it.  I can’t take credit for it, though, I originally found it on Allrecipes.  I just took a look, and it has 3,669 ratings!  That’s crazy!

Now, the original recipe calls for using two pots, one to cook the veggies and broth, and a separate one to make the roux.  I thought that was just silly, so I streamlined the recipe so that it uses just one pot.  I’ll mention here that I often tweak recipes, which is why you may notice corn and carrots in my picture of the soup, though the recipe doesn’t call for any.  And I threw in the chives just ’cause they looked pretty. Another thing I do is reduce the amount of chicken bouillon, I don’t think there’s a need for all that extra sodium.  I think you’ll enjoy this soup, even if your neck of the woods is a bit warmer than mine.

Lastly, here’s my suggestion for the day-pick up your cell phone, log into your email, or step into the next room, and tell your loved ones that they are loved.  Maybe even add a hug and a smooch for good measure.  It only takes a few seconds, but it seems like in this crazy rat race of a world we live in nowadays we don’t do that nearly enough.  I bet it’ll put a smile on your face(and your loved ones!) today 🙂

Ham and Potato Soup

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 cups peeled, diced potatoes
  • 1/3 cup chopped celery
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 3/4 cup chopped ham
  • 3 1/2 cups water
  • 2 Tb chicken bouillon
  • 1/2 tsp salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper, or to taste
  • 5 Tb butter
  • 5 Tb flour
  • 2 cups milk

Directions:

Melt butter in a large saucepan.  You can use less than called for, I always do.  Saute onion, celery, and ham just until veggies have softened.  Add the potatoes, water, chicken bouillon, salt, and pepper.  Bring to a boil, then simmer 10-15 minutes or until the potatoes are tender.  Whisk together the flour and milk, then slowly pour into the soup.  Simmer over low heat, stirring occasionally, until soup has thickened and is heated through.

Leave a comment

Filed under Soups/Stews

Leave a Reply

